Managing in Lower Rep Countries

hi guys, after 2 weeks without any FM at all, I am back into it thank god! I decided to start a new save, I wanted something different, something I have never done before, managing in a country I know very little-nothing about, In the end I just went for Santos, I don't know the Brazilian league very well but the things that tempted me were the amount of quality young players with high PA in Brazil and they have to stay in Brazil until they reach a certain age and of course Neymar :D

now I have started the save, I am thinking maybe Santos was the wrong way to go for what I wanted and am thinking about starting all over (again!) and maybe doing a different team in a country that I wouldn't even think of managing normally and also where I in the future could have many of my players in the nation team (Santos a little unlikely to have many players in the Brazil team

I am not asking for a suggestion of which team/country to manage in but I am asking if anyone here has managed or is managing in a country you knew nothing about when you started, what is it that made you choose that country and I also want to know if the save turned out to be fun or did it get boring

I'm managing a team in MLS at the moment. I certainly knew of the league but I didn't know all of its rules. I figured it would be a nice challenge, to learn the rules and play in a league that is different to the typical European leagues (Regular Season and Playoffs leading to the MLS Cup).

I am near the end of the first season (it is a multiplayer network game) and I am thoroughly enjoying it, I have a better understanding of the rules although I have yet to participate in my first SuperDraft.

I'm attempting to win the Champions Leagues in all 5 continents on my current save, so my first 2 clubs were Dynamos and Orlando Pirates in South Africa. It was surprisingly fun too, and so many of my Champions League winning side went on to have amazing careers in Europe later.