How do you do it! (Picking the team that is)

From reading through the threads, I see there are a number of different ways you people go about picking their teams. I have tried several and just wondered how you did it?

When I started playing too many years ago, I used to simply pick my best players, every game (as long as their fitness was over 80%). Then I developed slightly to resting players for league cup matches and an occasional league game, but my best 11 still played 90% of my matches.

I expanded my use of a squad, and had a best XI 2nd XI and young XI - except for the biggest games of the season, I would always include one or two 2nd XI players in every match. I would aim to get my 2nd XI 10 starts each as a minimum and I would only play players with 90% fitness.

The thing all my methods had was I KNEW my best XI and I was very reluctant to change it mid season ( I don't know why but I was), My squad selection would be decided on fitness and nothing else. A player would have to be extremely poor for a number of matches to be dropped, and a sub would have to set the world alight to even push for a start (then a couple of bad games and the axe would fall).

Recently, I have been using the stats for each players actual performance. I have noticed that the stats don't ALWAYS relate to the performance. For example, I had a German international winger, averaging around 7.4 over 20 odd games. My 2nd choice player for his position had lower attributes, and had played 8 matches with an average rating of 6.7 (or 8 doing this from memory) he was not an international although he did have a couple of U21 caps for Austria. I was looking in depth at players because I was 9 points off top.