Setting up the real EURO 2012 in FM 2012

Over at Sortitoutsi.net, I recently discovered this thread. Seems the lot are about to kick off a virtual EURO tournament, FM-style, likely using FMRTE to edit the squads in order to fit the real thing.

Whilst I'm still disappointed that SI haven't provided quick saves to any big tournament in recent years, probably also due to licensing issues, I want to set up one of those myself, both for me personally, and one I'd like to invite players for. Thing is, I have zero experience in setting up a network game. But most of all: I have zilch idea how to best go about this. Never used FMRTE, don't know what is possible with it, and how to best set up such a save.

As FM 2012 starts in summer 2012 (or spring 2011, depending on which starting point you choose), it is a minimum requirement for all the real EURO teams to qualify. Any ideas?

It's easier, I found a neat download over at Fm Base that sets up real squads, groups and schedules - e.g. on June 9th, it's Holland playing Denmark and Germany playing Portugal, only the kick off times are swapped. The best way to start a game is to choose a league that starts in spring 2012. Of course, come May 2012, the squads may be changed by the AI managers slightly, and on my first test run I had the Russian association sack Advocaat come end of 2011. I noticed after first looking at Russia's starting formation against Greece in the opener, suddenly lining up 4-4-2 rather than the 4-3-3 favoured by Dick and used by him in the game as well. But this looks real solid a foundation for both predicting the EURO as well as starting an on- and offline save during the tournament as well.