Inexplicable Loses

*Losses

I have been playing for many years - but am not an expert, by any means.

However, I have taken many LL teams - for it is only LL teams that I manage - from the very cellar - to at least 2 to 3 divisional promotions before, several times.

And though I have noticed this in other incarnations of the game, it's never been quite so pronounced.

My bottom of the pile Swedish team was promoted straight up in my first season and then stayed top of the div. above the following season, narrowly missing out on promotion.

But since then, three seasons in a row now - I have had a series of inexplicable loses - to all (and terrible) opposition, home & away and in all conditions.

At this point I hear you say 'take a ticket and stand in line pal' - but this is just nuts.

On paper, my team is pretty damn good - usually better than the opponent.

And fearing that it was predictable formations and tactics that was losing me the games (as someone on another forum pointed out - though I have my doubts that these LL managers watch endless video footage of my deep lying striker and his penchant for cutting inside!), I introduced 2 other setups, both of which got me two 5 game unbeaten runs.

But then - the strange and massively overstated losses began again. I went from a straight 5 game winning streak (by huge margins) to a 7 game losing/draw streak - pretty much 3 seasons in a row.

I know there is no simple answer to why this is happening and there are several dozen permutations to the game engine etc etc - but my point is this:

Does a (relatively) very good team, with top rated, professional players who can clearly beat most teams in their div. week after week, suddenly drop into a endless losing streak when I am not changing anything drastically?