My couple of thoughts on FM

I've been playing FM for the last 6 years or so. I've bought every version of the game since 2006, and over that time, I've been happy to see the game improve year to year. I think it's a great game and I definitely will be the next version of it when it is released. However, like with most people, I feel that there are ways in which it doesn't simulate real football. I'm not sure if there are solutions to these issue; the game may be more fun and more playable without making any changes.

The first issue for me is having visible player attributes. As a real life football fan, I often have arguments with my friends about the various attributes of different players. Who is a better finisher: Fernando Torres or Demba Ba? Who has a better long shot: Paul Scholes or Steven Gerrard? Who is better at marking: Chris Smalling or Phil Jones? These are all questions where in real life we could have a debate over who is better, but when I am trying to decide who to sign or play on FM, the game tells me who is better at every aspect of the game. A large part of being a successful football manager in real life is recognizing the talents and abilities of players, but on FM the game does this for us. I don't know if there is a good way around this issue on the game, but it is one way in which the game largely differs from real life.