Can you over egg the pudding?

I think I play this game a lot, and I've been playing various incarnations of FM for six years, to the anguish of the wife, the kids, and my health! And I do struggle to understand FMs precise definitions of each instruction, especially Creative Freedom.

And with so many varying tactical options at our disposal, can and do we over egg the pudding (in other words, do we confuse the players with issuing so many instructions)? The fact any tactical option is open to us, are there more consequences of selecting instructions that clash or contradict another, than solutions to play better?

In terms of individual player instructions, do you find less is more?

Ha im same i've been playing years and still cant get use the sliders properly and same again its creative freedom i struggle getting right, i know what it dose and means but i can never seem to get balance right :D but because im stubborn and like trying to get things right myself i wont got in tactics forum :)

The way I understand it, it's easy to exploit the ME by changing the mentality/creative freedom/closing down sliders so it's better anyway to use the "standard" sliders that computer A.I. can also use. As far as tactical options, when a player have the ball their only option(s) is either to run with the ball, pass it, hold it, or shoot if he thinks he has a chance to score, playing with extended mode will show you what works and what doesn't. For CD less is more for me while the attacking classes need some adjustment to make sure it works the way I'd like it to