I Can't Win Games! Is It My Tactics? (Help Needed)

Hi guys, I have been reading the forums for a little while and have noticed that a lot of people seem to be finding Football Manager easy. I have been playing since 2008, so I'm not the most experienced player but I know a little bit about the game. I love Football Manager but I am really struggling with Football Manager 2012. Every save I create and every team I manage turns out to be a disaster. I have tried using International Footballer as my reputation too recently because I heard it makes the game slightly easier but still no luck.

I always go into my saves and look at the players I have at my disposal, (I tend to play in the EPL as it's the league I enjoy the most.) I then go about creating a tactic that I believe suits my team but I never seem to get it right. Just an example, I started a new save recently with Arsenal. First game was Chelsea away and I played a basic 4-4-2 / Fluid / Defensive and got absolutely hammered 4-0. The next game was at home to Swansea and I kept the 4-4-2 and played Fluid / Control and I only managed a 1-1 draw. It seems what I feel is the right thing to do just isn't the right thing to do. Another thing is I don't know how best to exploit my opponents weaknesses without straying too far away from my normal strategy. Should I switch to long passing for certain games? Also when should I play narrow/wide, when should I press more? I need a lot of help understanding tactics really. I don't want to download other peoples because I like creating my own and tweaking them, I have spent time reading posts in the Tactics forum but I can't seem to translate much of what I have learned into winning games in my saves. Any help would be really great. Thanks.

21dgymb.png