Puzzled by goalkeepers.

Im a veteran of FM, and I know, the basis of any good team is a good goalie. I've always had my faves and found the goalkeeper i'd use to base my success around. Enyeama, Ochoa, Lewis, Stekelenburg.

But the problem is, on FM2012 I haven't had a 'good' keeper. Ive looked at the usual, Handling, Reflexes, Communication, Jumping, Positioning. Amongst other searches, but whoever i buy... Kameni, Zieler, ter Stegen, Krul. And I never get consistent performances where by the end of the season they average 7+

So frustrating even though I usually build solid defences and concede few.

Recommendations?

I'd say have a look and ask in the Good Keeper's Thread - as I'm sure you would be told, if not by me, by someone else; as this thread will probably be closed down at somepoint.

But that aside, the only real experiences I have had this year are of 3 Keepers - Tim Krul, ter Stegen and Jack Butland; and arguably Joe Hart with England. I'd recommend all three of these guys, and have relied and trusted them to have the ability to win games for me. I do understand the importance of a good GK, but I think that the ratings do not tell the whole story. Granted if your guy ends a match with a 9.0 you know he's had a blinder; but if he were to concede a single goal it would have much more of a detrimental affect on his final rating.

I'd recommend focusing on maintaining a strong defence and keeping clean sheets, if you do this over time you know that your Keeper will be playing well and you should see the rating represent this. I don't focus to much on my GKs rating tbh, idealy he'd finish with a 6.9 and have nothing to do all game; but alas that is rarely the case. But if you do get a good keeper that you can rely on to perform when called upon, you won't go far wrong.

A good GK rating is anything above 6.9 in my opinion.