Network Games ??? Help please...

I am a bit of a NEWBIE when it comes to Network games... not sure if there is a dedicated section for these ??? Anyways I couldn't find one so thought I should post here...

I am looking for help on how to get into Network Games... I found information via another forum on them, but could not manage to join any, it kept coming up with "couldnt connect to server" so any advice/help would be greatly appreciated :)

Try the FM Online on here mate theres a user guide and FAQ there.

To be honest what I found was not very helpful, it just stated the obvious and didnt trouble shoot any ideas... I saw some reference in a thread about the ports pointing to the right thing, but no reference of what the right thing is... I dont get why they didnt make it easier to do... or at least have a fools guide to it all :( There's loads of people in different threads with the same issue... and no one with the right answer :( Sucks royally... or maybe I am just too old for these games ! lol

Try google type in fm2012 network game guide and see what comes up thats what I usually do when Im stuck.

Again already done this and found nothing :(

Andy... I guess the first thing is if I have to download this Hamachi thingy everyone is mentioning...do I need it to just join a network game, when I first read about it I thought that was only needed to set up a network game...

I found two network games which gave ips... I entered both and both said "could not connect to server" I found a few with no ip, but a username... I put that same place I put the ip's (which I dont think was right) and again same message !

I am guessing the ones with usernames are for the Hamachi thingy ! So I guess I answered my own question...

Someone also mentioned about "ports" pointing to the right place... again aint got the faintest what this means... I can connect to network games like "counter strike" so I am guessing my ports are ok lol...