Journeyman Career

I've been playing football manager since 2010 now, still pretty new to the series. I have never started a journeyman career with a lower league club and worked my way up. I've always played with a Tottenham or ManCity and tried to take them to many championships and achievements. But reading about some of the careers people have going, it seems very interesting and fun.

Wanted to know if anyone could give me some advice on going about this career. Was thinking of starting with a low level english club and trying to work my way up to a Champions League level team. Any suggestions on what team to start with? What are some of the major differences in running these lower league teams? Any strategies I should be using in signing/loaning etc.? Any help is appreciated!