Downloading instead of buying Disc version... Noob here with questions

I am interested in buying FM2011 yet I cannot find the boxed version, and the only trustable places that sell that game is selling the game through Download and not the boxed version. I am planning on buying it through gamersgate(not steam) since it is cheap.

I have bought the boxed version of FM games around 5-6 times in the past decade. However, I never bought a PC digitally ever. I am curious how it works.

1- Does the editing software come along with the download?

2- Does the website email you a cd or something?

3- Since it is running completely off your PC instead of a disc, does the game Load faster?

4- What do you prefer, downloading or buying a disc version?

5- Are there any differences I am missing?

Thanks in advance...

1. You can download the editor in the tools section of steam

2. No, FM12 appears in your steam Library, and stays tied to your account. You receive no disc.

3. Mine runs just as smoothly as fm11 did.

4. First time downloading this year, no regrets, other then the fact my games on the shelf look incomplete without the fm12 case.

5. Not sure, so I will say no :D

Follow up question to this thread. Do you need internet access to play with a downloaded version? What I mean by this, is, say I downloaded today, and then wanted to play for 8 hours on a flight tomorrow (with no internet access on the flight), would I be able to launch the game?

Follow up question to this thread. Do you need internet access to play with a downloaded version? What I mean by this, is, say I downloaded today, and then wanted to play for 8 hours on a flight tomorrow (with no internet access on the flight), would I be able to launch the game?
Set steam to offline mode and there you go. Just make sure you follow the steps EXACTLY. We really don't need another "steam offline mode doesn't work because i didnt follow the instructions" thread...