Advice needed! Is it worth upgrading to SSD with my specs?

Hi, recently my Seagate Barraccuda 7200.11 500GB hard disk suffered a firmware failure. I'll be receiving my replacement (it was under warranty) on Mon and was wondering if I should continue using this model as a primary HD or use it as a secondary and purchase a SSD to run my OS.

I'm not very tech savvy, so I'm looking for some advice on whether this is a good move. I'm a PhD student who works from home a lot, so reliability is a major concern (I do not want to lose any data!). Besides work, I only use my desktop to play FM and surf the net.

I do not intend to do any upgrading except for buying a SSD or a HDD (if that is better alternative). I'm a career FM gamer, so I'm interested to know if using a SSD for OS and programs will lead to significant improvements in processing speed given my current specs:

Win 7 64bit OS

Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q9950 2.83GHz

Asus P5Q Pro P45 XFire Motherboard

Asus GeForce 9800GTX graphics card

2 x Kingston 6400/800 2GB DDR2 RAM

Aerocool Horsepower 750W PSU with 14cm LED fan

Cooler Master Centurion 5 casing

If SSD is the way to go, which should I buy?

Your advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks.

SSDs will improve loading times (FM and OS) and saving (FM) by quite a bit.

Whether it's worth it depends on how much you want to spend. There are good and quick HDDs out there (i.e. the Samsung Spinpoint F3) although they don't touch SSDs. So is it worth it? It is really up to whether you want to spend or not...

If you are doing technical work for your PhD. on your laptop (i.e. MATLAB), involving reading and writing large files or compiling code, then an SSD will definitely help. Personally, if I were in that situation and had the cash, I'd go for an SSD. Just beware of the low SSD capacity (i.e. high £ per GB) unless you really have too much money to burn.