FM09 - Not Working

My laptop isn't the best and I still play FM 09. I've played it regularly until Sunday when it randomly stopped working. I logged off to watch some tv then tried to get back on later but kept repeatedly getting the error message...

Football Manager 2009 has stopped working

A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

I have reported this on Steam but no response. Has anyone experienced this before, unfortunately I'm not very good with computers so have no idea what's wrong. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Not sure if you're on windows or mac?

But on windows go to Control Panel>Add Remove Programs. Find Steam and choose Uninstall

Make sure you have FM uninstalled first.

To reinstall Steam just google for the download of it. http://store.steampowered.com/about/

But now that you have said that you installed from a CD? You shouldn't need Steam for that? Not 100% sure though as I've never installed from CD in recent years.

Once you have everything uninstalled reboot the computer.

uninstalled everything and tried to reinstall not using steam and all was going well until i went to put in the big code on my manual, i entered it all and it said it couldnt connect to internet for some reason. so uninstalled again and done it via steam and got the same crap. going to uninstall again and try without steam again.

Might have to do with the resolution of your monitor, try change that? http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/display_change_screen_resolution.mspx?mfr=true

or you could try

Right click on the desktop icon, go to properties. under target add this (depending on where you install it) ""C:\Football Manager 2008\fm.exe" -windowed -small_screen".