Football Manager's 'Friend Zone'

I'm sure most of you are aware of the term 'the Friend Zone'... I believe this exists in Football Manager.

After taking Walsall to the Premiership with 2 promotions in around 5 seasons, I felt things were on the up. I had a towering 19 year old centre back, a regen called Tapiwa Murambadoro. I could see him being in the starting line up for years to come, along with Hans Jorgen Jeppesen, who had finishing of 18 and was the key to taking me to the top half of the Premier League. In the second year of Premiership existence, the pair were sold by the chairman for a grand total of £8,000,000. I was furious. No way were these two worth that little. Even if I was a selling manager I would have kept them for a year at least and sold them for upwards of £15,000,000 each. And then it dawned on me.

Walsall were not a big enough club. We could attract hot prospects but not keep them, and we couldn't replace them regardless of the budget we had. They were a small big team, and a big small team. Not enough, but too much as well. Coupled with the fact that Walsall's measly 11,000 seater stadium meant that any hopes of an expansion would mean an extended stay in the top flight, which was just unsustainable...

...so I quit and went to League One Southampton. And the EXACT same thing happened. Right now I've just played the first game of the second season in the Premiership, I've overspent just to replace like-for-like players and now my first choice right back is being sold. My left back conceded 2 penalties in the first match (ironically against Worsul) and thought it was too harsh of me to fine him, even if we lost 4-3, a match we dominated.

My squad is too small for comfort, but because I've had to spend so much on replacements for key players, I haven't got any money left. Also I am absolutely furious with the way the game handles reputation...