New to the game

I am completely new to the football manager series, the only previous football manag er game I played was LMA manager on the PS2 up until 2007.

Obviously FM is much better and I really enjoy playing it however I must be doing something wrong. To get used to the game I started from the 'bottom' I am managing Clyde in the Scottish 3rd division and although they are bottom of the league in reality in my second season I am bottom of the league in January with 12 points, 5 points adrift at the bottom of the league without a win in 13 games - with most of my squad from the previous season and a few loanees from Celtic. I lose pretty much every games, out of all cups in the first round as well.

Am I approaching the game wrong? - do you have to go through detailed tactical set-ups before each game, talk individually to players etc. I have been following ass managers advice on which players to drop, training regimes etc but to no avail.

Any advice on how to 'play' the game to a newbie would be appreciated. Cheers.

My only advice would be don't take on as challenging (and potentially very frustrating) a team as anyone in the lower leagues. Best to start off as a team expected to do well in their league until you get used to how much more complex and immersive a game FM is than LMA manager, then once you have a bit of 'big team' management experience and the confidence that comes from winning have another crack it a lower league team.

welcome to the forums and the series, im 27 and have wasted way too much of my life on these games, i dont regret a thing :)