FM 2011 too easy, at least for me...

alright guys, am I just really really good at FM (which I doubt, considering I started playing a few months ago) or is the game a little unbalanced and easy? I'm using 11.2.1, I don't use genie scout, or any other form of cheating/making the game easier to my knowledge. here's my first 4 seasons in a journeyman save...a little unrealistic no?

Started unemployed with semi-pro experience, small database, loaded about 5-10 european countries:

SEASON 1: signed contract with volgar-gazprom, a struggling russian 2nd division team, near the bottom of the table halfway through their season. I managed to get them to approx. mid table by the end of the season.

SEASON 2: built my team, finished 2nd, promoted to rusky premier division, defied all expectations/media predictions.

SEASON 3: predicted as last place in premier division, yet held my own and ended up lower mid table well clear of relegation. This a team fresh out of 2nd div, by far the least money in the premier league, worst facilities etc etc.

SEASON 4 - current, near end of season: now holding my own against the likes of CSKA, Zenit, Rubin etc, hardly lost a game by more than one goal, comfortable in 5th place. Bought/signed lots of huge talents with ease, notably a 19yr old a on free transfer for 7k p/w who had offers from real madrid, man city etc etc. Why the hell would he choose me????? I'm sure the other offers were higher, and to top it off he states that my club is a stepping stone!! umm what? didn't you have offers from world class clubs only to choose a russian team fresh out of the 2nd division? Can someone please explain this?

anyway.....

I find this all a bit unrealistic to say the least. Whats causing this? How is the AI so behind season after season? Is there something I'm not doing in the settings that would make the game harder/ more realistic?? Am I missing something?