Ranking, Re-Ranking and adapting - A discussion

As far as I can see, a lot of people claim one of a number of things, and all are, in general, the result of the same phenomenon. For instance:

As Manchester United I can beat Chelsea, but not Southport
I won 20 games on the bounce, but now I can't beat even the most rubbish teams

The reason has been referred to by a number of different things, but the most understandable definition is re-ranking.

So what are the side effects of re-ranking, and how can we combat them?

Combatting is difficult and may take some explanation from others, as I'm not that good at combatting it myself (I'm quite good against "better" teams, but not so good against smaller ones). I think it's best, then, that we outline the main scenarios and then try and find the solutions.

First, I know that these are touched briefly by the TT&F Theory threads, but I don't believe there are enough categories in there. It looks at playing stronger/weaker teams, playing at home/away, but while I think this is useful but not complete enough. It needs to be explained why and how the opposition will play against the human and, therefore, how the human should play against the AI.

===============================================

As I see it, there are three aspects to consider when setting up to play a game:

1) How good are your players

2) How good are the opposition

3) What is the expected outcome of the game

One huge mistake people seem to make is that the answers to 1 and 2 will automatically make 3. Not so. For instance, if you are West Brom who have bought in a great side and have just got promoted to the Premier League. For the first half of the season you may have the skill to be a top 6 team. However, the odds for each game will say that you are a bottom 6 team. Therefore, the opposition will expect to win and will set out to win the game.