If you struggle with tactics read this...I promise it will help!

Firstly please don’t read this if you are an FM expert or somebody who DOESN’T struggle with the tactical side of the game. You would just find this condescending and probably quite basic and obvious. The intention is to help the strugglers, who don’t see the obvious, with a simple piece of tactical insight that could open up your mind to broader possibilities and provide the springboard to a greater understanding of the tactical side of the game. In order to do this I have to convince you that I am not an FM expert even though I have read many articles and contributions on this site in trying to understand how to become one! It is now time to give something back.

Background

I have dabbled with many incarnations of FM from 2006 onwards but haven’t had the time to advance a game much beyond a full season. By then the next series is out and so it goes on. I read many publications about tactics and enjoy trying to implement this into the game, however, have never really understood how to make it happen in FM until the penny dropped recently. This has enabled me to finish my first game of FM10 in L1 and run out clear champions with a team that were predicted to struggle. My job security is untouchable, I have been hailed a legend by previous players and one of the best managers around by the fans and have the gratitude of the board….and when you consider I’m actually not that good at FM then I must have done something right.

Where did it all go right?