Simulation or arcade?

Guest El Payaso

Guest El Payaso

I started playing Football Manager in 2006 when I bought FM 07. I simply loved the game because it reminded me of real football, it was challenging, it wasn't easy to get good players into a small club, I haad to make my own tactics and so on. Nowadays I don't like the newer versions because they're so easy that I just would have to start from bottom to get any challenge. Managing big teams like Chelsea or Real Madrid is just easy, all you have to do is press continue and still you succeed. Things that annoy me are:

1. Tactics creator. Every manager IRL has their own style to play their players. Mourinho's Inter was better than Benitez's Inter with the same players. Why? Because Mourinho had his own tactics and styles to manage his team. In FM we have tactics creator which's player instructions are just stupid. I wouldn't give full creativity freedom or closing down to any player. The tactics creator also doesn't notice players' weaknesses at all; you could have a defensive midfielder with bad stamina and there isn't a role for player like this as every DM role has high closing down and so on. Tactics creator has killed the tactical side of Football manager IMO.

2. Training. The players really aren't improving properly. Training seems random nowadays. IRL we've seen players developing rapidly. Gareth Bale has developed quickly in Tottenham and is now a world class player... What's the point of making training scheludes when players actually seem to develope randomly. I don't want my young centre back develop his free kick taking, I'm not training him in that schelude and still he developes only in that aspect. Simply stupid?