Player Value problem?

I am intrigued as to how a player's value is calculated in FM11.

I am at Atletico CP, in the Portuguese Second division Central, in 2018. I have been managing them for 5 years now and since season 1 I had been watching my star player develop. Promoted at 15 years old, he was already the best player in the team. 5 years on he is a fantastic player but his value keeps decreasing and I have no idea why.

He has been wanted by a myriad of clubs across Europe for the whole 5 years with teams like Liverpool, Chelsea, AC Milan and Real Madrid having declared interest and had bids rejected by me. His value started at 20k as a 15 year old and quickly rose to 130k by the end of season 2. Since then though it has dropped to 80k as of season 5.

His contract has another 3 years on it so it isn't to do with contract expiry approaching withing a season.

His stats for his 5 years are from year 1 at the top to current season at the bottom:

Played Goals Assists MOM Av. Rating

29 10 10 4 7.23

29 13 13 9 7.54

20 7 6 3 7.30

30 21 17 8 7.81

17 7 18 5 7.81

So to me, he is improving each year but his value doesn't increase, rather it is decreasing. Does anyone have any ideas on this?

It's really about reputation, on my previous save i had a really good young CB that i got on a free transfer and his reputation was local and just couldn't get any loan bids for him though i could easily loan other players that were worse but had better reputation.

You don't happen to have a screenshot of when you got him do you? That's some impressive progress right there.. is he on a part-time contract as well?

It's really about reputation, on my previous save i had a really good young CB that i got on a free transfer and his reputation was local and just couldn't get any loan bids for him though i could easily loan other players that were worse but had better reputation.