£2m....... 24 hours later, goodbye promising youngster!

I am absolutely gutted! I signed a 15 yo Brazillian for my Sevilla side on a 3 year contract. Interest in him was high so i got in early. Brazillian youth playes have to wait until they are 18 before joining a club in Spain. Then me, being the idiot that i am, thought the 3 year contract would start when he joined! So 3 years later when the transfer window opens he joins. The next again day he leaves on a free and won't negotiate to sign on again! Easily the best £2m i've ever spent. He looks a good prospect but his stats have barely improved in the last three years. So hopefully he never becomes a great player!!

Oh wow I've been signing young Brazilians for many years on my game but always just assumed this was how the system worked... I've generally been trying to get them on 5 year deals (so that I have at least 1 year to play with when they join) and hoping their egos haven't risen so much that they won't sign an extension ~6 months after joining. I really hope this is fixed, it'll save me a lot of stress!

I am absolutely gutted! I signed a 15 yo Brazillian for my Sevilla side on a 3 year contract. Interest in him was high so i got in early. Brazillian youth playes have to wait until they are 18 before joining a club in Spain. Then me, being the idiot that i am, thought the 3 year contract would start when he joined! So 3 years later when the transfer window opens he joins. The next again day he leaves on a free and won't negotiate to sign on again! Easily the best £2m i've ever spent. He looks a good prospect but his stats have barely improved in the last three years. So hopefully he never becomes a great player!!

Loads and loads of problems with buying youths from countries with rules like that.

Same with pre-contracts and agreeing to buy players at the end of the season.