I need some help, i don't know what's gone wrong

I'm in my 2nd season with Everton, i finished 5th last year. I'm only a few games in to the new season but i'm really struggling, it's as if my team standing has gone down - i played burnley and in the pre-match conference they were saying it would be tough, then played liverpool and said i was favourite to lose. It was different last season, i was usually favourite except against the really big teams. the only players i got rid of were Louis Saha and Tony Hibbert. I brought in Fran Merida and then Marcus Berg on loan.

The only other reason I can think of is i changed quite alot of my backroom staff in the off season, as many were out of contract. I know i desperately need a new striker but i dont have the money at the mo.

Maybe my formation? but i think its ok

any help would be appreciated

yeah i did overachieve (i think). But i don't know how i can get out of this slump.

If you hadn't guessed i'm pretty new at this

Then you won't have heard of "second season syndrome."

In your first season everyone thinks "oo, three points, easy." In the second, with a better rep, they will play more defensively and you have to adjust your tactics to compensate.

I've found you can get away with tweaking your tactice to be a little more attacking every season you do well. I usually do this to one CM and the wingers. (I play 442)

You could change your striker's partnership instructions ie, changing instructions from say, an Advanced Forward and Poacher to a Complete forward and Poacher.

Change in little bits. If you did well last season, build on your successful formation but don't change too much. Keep most of your player instructions as normal. This has worked for me, anyway.

Are you leaking many goals or struggling to score? (if it's both, usually one is more obvious)