FM 2011 - Steam - Windows 7 - Doesn't load

Azzy

Hello all,

I bought Football Manager 2011 on Steam today for PC. I downloaded it fine and then went to load it, it starts as you would expect, "preparing to launch Football Manager 2011" then my friends status changes to green as if I started playing a game, and then it goes back to blue and nothing happens. My other steam games work fine, CSS, TF2, BFBC2 and even my old Football Manager 2010.

I have:

Windows 7 64bit Operating System,

6GB RAM

Plenty free hard disk space

Radeon HD4890 latest drivers

3GHz i7 CPU

I have tried deleting clientregistry.blob as I know this cures a lot of issues with Counterstrike Source, that didn't make a difference.

Tried playing it straight away and it didn't load.

I downloaded the update through steam and manually both result in the game not loading.

I have tried verifying the game files twice over after restarting the game and again the game doesn't load.

I have tried disabling my anti virus and firewall completely and again the game doesn't load.

I have tried running Football Manager 2011 as administrator and that doesn't make any difference.

I have downloaded the latest Direct X updates and again the game doesn't load.

Downloaded .NET 4 which made no difference.

I removed FM2010 in case it was conflicting and reinstalled 2011 but that didn't do anything

I tried googling the issue, searching steam forums and here but due to people using different wording or not having this issue, I am struggling to find any information on how to fix this, and I am kind of at wits end.

Any ideas would be great, I am close to the stage of giving up and asking Steam for a refund.

Thanks

Phil

***Could someone please move this to the technical issues area, I have that many different forum windows open I posted in the wrong section. Thanks.***

try this

First of all you need to turn on hidden files and folders.

XP:

My Computer

'Tools'

'Folder Options'.