Defending problem

Happens a lot in real life too, especially when a team is man-marking. One of the CBs usually steps out in these situations, and it's usually the faster one. It's not the best defending I've ever seen, but it's far from the worst too. Who is the Everton no.15?

Sylvain Distin.

• Administrators

To be honest it's not great defending by a long shot - I would suggest it may have something to do with (as mentioned) your man-marking or zonal marking, and how much you have your CB's closing down. Personally as a manager I'd be tearing my hair out that Distin didn't close down and Jags dropped off with Rooney. Saying that, maybe he expected Distin to push up too and play Rooney offside...

My team is Man Utd. Many teams are doing this against my team. It's annoying.

No6 is playing against Rooney, No15 is playing against Berbatov. Berba is going to right. But Jagielka is coming to close him. Is Jagielka's closing down full, Distin's closing down very low? Why?

Sorry, my English is poor. My sentences are very simple, as you see. :)

Just chucking my opinion in

#1 the starting positions. The CBs should be holding a line and I agree with csrda with respect to how centre halfs defend against a 442 and coordinate/communicate based on where their nominal direct opponent is. The positioning and closing down decisions is one reason you should always ignore that stopper/cover theory which in my opinion doesn’t exist in real life football where a fundamental zonal back 4 shifts and operates in a mirrored way across a rough line down the centre of the pitch. It definitely doesn’t work in the match engine in an intelligent manner and will only do so consistently if you match your stopper up with whichever striker regularly drops off

#2 the right back is obviously set up to stay back so why is he

(a) standing 5 yards off the back line completely oblivious to #10 in behind

and