Should you change tactics every match?

Im a veteran of the series but this version (with the latest patch) has me scratching my head and wondering what to do. Can you be successful with 1 tactic which you use home and away or do you need 2 or 3 or more tactics depending on the opposition?

Thanks

I use two tactics one for home and one for away. Initially I only used one with FC Bayern, but when I went on to tougher leagues there was a big difference between home and away so I creatd an away tactic as well. I also have an emergency tactic in case i'm behind with 20 to go.

hat's 3 tactics but I could probably survive with just the one and the emergency tactic is just used when necessary.

Probably best in tactics forum since people are likely to start discussing specifics.

But in answer to your question, no. I frequently have a tactic that I don't change for several games but suddenly will find myself 2-0 down against inferior opposition. In this case, I make a drastic change at half time (usually win 3-2 or 4-2 if I get it right; lose 4-0 if I get it wrong) and change my tactic for the following game.

Any time you are winning at half time it's a good idea to change tactics a little bit, eg, slow the tempo down or close down their best-performing midfielder from the first half, but nothing too drastic.

If you chop and change too often there's no consistency. Pretty much every tactic will be cracked eventually. I've never gone through a whole season without changing. Fewest I can remember is 3 major formation changes (usually start 442, switch to 433 coming up to December, then finish on a short passing 41212).

But each game, you may have to tweak very slightly things like opposition instructions. For example, I set my full backs to "always" close down, but when I'm up against class wingers like Christiano Ronaldo I'll set opposition instructions to "never" close him down, so they are more patient with him and don't dive in.