PDA

View Full Version : Problem 1



AndyRich
29-08-2010, 19:26
My 3D randomly decided to not work one day. it just stopped.

Need people to tell me and link me everything i might need to download to get it back, or any possible solutions.

It did once work, although now i am unable to click the "enable 3D match cameras" check box.

pleeassseee help :)

Barkermush
30-08-2010, 10:23
Have you tried updating your Graphics Drivers?

That as fixed the problem for other people with your problem in the past. :thup:

trekman
30-08-2010, 12:23
Do as suggested above and update your graphics card drivers. It might also be a good idea to run a virus and\or spyware scan. If you do this at the same time as having fm running make sure that it ignores the fm folders.

What other stuff do you have running at the same time as fm? Have you installed something new recently as perhaps maybe something is causing a conflict?

vinsinaty
30-08-2010, 12:31
Have you properly shut down and restart your computer ? Sometimes I only put it in sleep mode, and then strange things happen if I abuse of that...

What is Problem 2 ?

AndyRich
30-08-2010, 13:28
Bakermush - How do you update???

Trekman - Will try to update :) already done virus, i have none :/ not installed much new stuff, especially stuff that would effect it, so i dnt think its that...

vinsinaty - computer has been started and shut down many a time :) and problem two with be a new thread when 1 is resolved :D

trekman
30-08-2010, 20:48
vinsinaty - computer has been started and shut down many a time :) and problem two with be a new thread when 1 is resolved :D

I think you should post now. Both might be related in some way.

Barkermush
30-08-2010, 20:57
Bakermush - How do you update???

Trekman - Will try to update :) already done virus, i have none not installed much new stuff, especially stuff that would effect it, so i dnt think its that...

vinsinaty - computer has been started and shut down many a time :) and problem two with be a new thread when 1 is resolved

If you click Start/Control Panel/Device Manager and then on the drop down list find your graphics drivers [mine are under Display Adapter/ATI Radeon HD 3450], right click them and click "Update Driver Software". :thup:


http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/1158/14625334.jpg

Brian Shanahan
30-08-2010, 21:00
Bakermush - How do you update???



Find the make and model of your graphics card by typing in "dxdiag" in the search box on your start panel (the windows logo thingy)> click the dxdiag.exe icon (it's a blue/black circle with a yellow x in it), that will give your computer's full specs, click "save all information" which will put a notepad file on your desktop with more info on your computer than you can shake a stick at. Open this, find Display Devices (it's the 4th grouping) which will give you the model of your graphics card (for illustration mine says NVIDIA GeForce 7050 / NVIDIA nForce 610i). Finally type "Graphics card X (insert the actual name here) update drivers" into Google, and the first link should be the page for the official website of the manufacturer with the most recent driver updates. (example (http://www.google.ie/search?q=NVIDIA+GeForce+7050+driver+update&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a) using my card)

Edit: Bakermush beat me with the other way!

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 00:58
Thanks Bakermush for the nice reply, and this may sound stupid to you, but where the hell is device manager?!?!

This is my control panel...

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/ControlPanel.jpg

How do i get to it?! :P

Also thanks Brian for the reply :) even if baker beat you to it ;)

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 01:13
If you click switch to classic view on the left hand side. And the Device manager should be somewhere on the list. :thup:

http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/597/39833828.jpg

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 01:14
if you switch to classic view it should be easy to see. Though I am guessing its under performance and maintenance off the top of my head.

:ninja Bark beat me to it:

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:20
I dont have vista on the desktop, therefore no device manager :/

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/ControlPanel2.jpg

What do i dooooo???

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:20
OOOOHHHH take that back, found it through "System" :)

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 01:22
if you switch to classic view it should be easy to see. Though I am guessing its under performance and maintenance off the top of my head.

:ninja Bark beat me to it:

;)


OOOOHHHH take that back, found it through "System" :)

Good stuff. :thup:

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:29
This is my Device Manager...

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/devicemanager1.jpg

And the bottom three things ... (wouldnt all fit to screen)

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/devicemanager2.jpg

Where do i go from here to update my drivers???

(btw, thanks for this)

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 01:34
Mines listed under display adapters.....but yours may well be the video controller.

The fact it has the ? next to it may well point to the route of all your problems.

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 01:40
Mines listed under display adapters.....but yours may well be the video controller.

The fact it has the ? next to it may well point to the route of all your problems.

Yep what Jedaye said. :thup:

It look's like you have an error with your graphics drivers, as it as a yellow question mark next to it.
So that's probably the reason why your 3D as stopped working, have you uninstalled any programs latley before your 3D stopped working?

On an old computer i once rebooted it completly and it deleted all my Graphics Drivers, so i had to download and install the drivers manually, after hours of searching on Google to find the right drivers i needed.

Try right clicking, and click updating Driver software and see if it sorts it..

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:42
Updating everything saying "Video" next to it lols :L

Will tell you if it is successful in a few mins :P

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:47
Basically,

The driver wont update because of this...

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/prompt.jpg

None of them will, all same reason

What do i doooo?!?!?!

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 01:48
do you know what gfx card you have?

you could try this..... Finding Driver Information XP (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/finddrivers.mspx) if not.

worst comes to worst you can get Driver detective (http://www.drivershq.com) to scan your pc, You have to buy it to download through it but it should tell you your gfx model so you can download it direct from the site...

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:53
doesnt say, i click on details and it says ...

"Driver Provider - Unknown"
"Driver Date - Not Available"
"Driver Version - Not Available"
"Digital Signer - Not Digitally Signed"

It seems to have disappeared?!

My computer is a HP Desktop, it was top of the range in like 2006? 2007? around then

No idea what has happened to these drivers

What do i dooooo?!?!?!

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 01:53
Basically,

The driver wont update because of this...

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/prompt.jpg

None of them will, all same reason

What do i doooo?!?!?!

Yep that's exactly what happened with me, i had bought my old PC off a friend and i had no disk,so i had no idea what Gfx card i had.

I found a program that you download which inspects your computer, and it identifies what Graphics card is installed on your computer and if your lucky it will also tell you what drivers you need to download. [I was not this lucky before, there loads of different drivers for each Gfx card and only the correct one will work].


I can't remember what the program was called, but i'll have a quick google and see if i can find it.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:54
Thanks alot mate, Your a hero! :L

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 01:55
I've edit my above post.....


do you know what gfx card you have?

you could try this..... Finding Driver Information XP (http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/finddrivers.mspx) if not.

worst comes to worst you can get Driver detective (http://www.drivershq.com) to scan your pc, You have to buy it to download through it but it should tell you your gfx model so you can download it direct from the site...

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 01:57
Cant spend money on this :( i mean i would if it was my computer, but seeing as its the family computer, and i plan to get my own within the next few year, i may aswell save :/

Will try first option tho :)

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 01:57
doesnt say, i click on details and it says ...

"Driver Provider - Unknown"
"Driver Date - Not Available"
"Driver Version - Not Available"
"Digital Signer - Not Digitally Signed"

It seems to have disappeared?!

My computer is a HP Desktop, it was top of the range in like 2006? 2007? around then

No idea what has happened to these drivers

What do i dooooo?!?!?!

Have you rebooted your PC latley?
If you do a factory reset on your PC it does this to your graphics/audio drivers, as i've learnt the hard way in the past.

Or Have you recently installed or deleted something from your computer? But not sure if installing or deleting something would have done that to your gfx drivers..

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 01:59
Cant spend money on this :( i mean i would if it was my computer, but seeing as its the family computer, and i plan to get my own within the next few year, i may aswell save :/

Will try first option tho :)

It will scan your hardware for free. So you should be able to find the name of your gfx card.

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:00
Try this (http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html)

It will list the brand and model of many hardware items often including those without the drivers installed. :thup:

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:02
Belarc does much the same as Driver detective in that you will have to pay for it to manage your driver downloads. It should still scan your system for free.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:04
Computer has had many a factory reset :/

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:05
Downloading belarc....

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:07
Oh yeah don't buy anything after the test, you can always download the drivers for free else where.

If you just use the program to scan and find out what Gfx card you have installed on your computer[the scan is free], and then just use google to search for the Drivers you need.
Or go to the official website for the Maker of your Gfx card installed on your computer, they normally have all drivers available for free download on their sites.

It's finding the correct driver that can be a pain.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:13
Right i have a current status of my computer by belarc, now what am i looking at for this problem?

What section of the report should i look at to see what i need to install???

Pretty sure this link wont work for you,

but this is a link to the report i got .....

file:///C:/Program%20Files/Belarc/Advisor/System/tmp/(049759620328).html

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:15
No the link won't work.
Erm i can't remember now, as it's nearly 6 years since i used the program.

If you post or PM a screenie, i'll see if i can see anything.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:16
ill have to post like 4/5 screenshots, but what the hell, hang on :P

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:17
thats not a url. I haven't used it for a while but it was pretty obvious which the gfx card was. It is more then likely ATI or Nvid

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:19
thats not a url. I haven't used it for a while but it was pretty obvious which the gfx card was. It is more then likely ATI or Nvid

Yeah it will be something like that, and if you right click on it it should give you information about it including the name of the Gfx card.

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 02:30
Did you try HP website for drivers?
http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support_task.html

Also, you can check your GPU name and model with DxDiag.
Type dxdiag inside the "Run Command" box in the start menu, and enter.

Once you get the GPU info, you can download drivers from the manufacturer's website.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:31
Right!!

Here are the screenshots, in the order they were on the report page.

1.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc1.jpg

2.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc2.jpg

3.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc3.jpg

4.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc4.jpg

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:32
5.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc5.jpg

6.
http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/belarc6.jpg


.. that took time, have a read n see what you think i should do next :)

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:34
hard to read them.....under display does it say none detected?

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:35
yes jedaye, it does

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:37
that makes things more difficult :P

You can see if driver detector gives you something. Do you know the model number of the hp?

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:41
found the model of computer!

It isss.... hp imedia s 1839

will look for the number too if you need it?

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:41
What does it say under multimedia?

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:43
Bakermush -

"ASUSTeK Tiger Capture Device
Realtek High Definition Audio"

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 02:47
Any model name? Like: Pavillion, Proliant, Presario etc. ?

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:50
model name = hp imedia s 1839

nothing else given :/ unless you know where i could find?

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:53
I can't find any info on that model :S

I seam to have lied before I edited.....Though it may be due to it being 3am and 13 cans in.

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 02:57
I've found a driver download for hp imedia 1839 for a packard bell.

Not sure if thats right.

http://diplodrivers.com/download-driver/PACKARD%20BELL/IMEDIA%20S1839

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 02:57
I recon its either my gfx or the fact my display drivers are not there :/ they may have been un-installed during factory resets... who knows? if anyone can shed light on the situation or give me a link to something they think i should download please post!

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 02:59
Did you get any discs with your PC? You may find the original drivers on there, or even if you have a manual it should have info about your GFX card.

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 03:00
I think your graphics drivers are there, as it shows them in the Device Manager. If the Gfx card was not connected i don't think the Device Manager would have picked them up.

I think it's just that your drivers are missing for your Gfx card.

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 03:00
Any possibility that your PC is a Packard Bell, and not HP?

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 03:03
Well, in any case, your model number perfectly matches a Packard Bell Desktop PC:
http://www.citylocal.ie/cities/Galway/freeadvert_Packard_Bell_IMedia_S_1839_Desktop_Comp uter_7470.html

Which has a nVidia GeForce 7300 GS GPU

Which you can download the driver at below URL:
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/win7-winvista-32bit-258.96-whql-driver-uk.html

:D

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 03:11
got some details,

It is Packard Bell, sorry about that.

IMEDIA S 1839
System Model - GA-8I945PM
Processor - Intel Pentium D CPU 3.00GHz (2CPUs)
Memory - 2048MB RAM
Direct X Version - DirectX 9.0c

This is my Display section of the dxdiag, it shows nothing is installed, this is my problem.

http://i1010.photobucket.com/albums/af224/AndyRich123/directx1.jpg

Anyone know what to do???

Wiitastic
31-08-2010, 03:12
how about simply doing a system restore on the computer to a couple of days before this happened ? say it happened August 21st, system restore it to August 19th.

click start (bottom left corner of your screen) then Help & Support. System restore is there.

this has fixed many problems I have had in the past

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 03:13
Burak, thanks for the help, great suggestion, downloading as we speak... well type...

We will see if it works within the next half an hour! :)

Although keep suggestions coming people, with my luck its unlikely to work! :L

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 03:14
System Restore hasnt worked "Wiitastic" :(

Wiitastic
31-08-2010, 03:20
go to packard bell website and download updated drivers, if it doesnt work, ring up packard bell help line

Barkermush
31-08-2010, 03:26
Yeah the system restore won't work if you have rebooted your PC.

Did you try the installing the driver from the link that BurakUeda posted?
It sounds like a close match.

Jedaye
31-08-2010, 03:27
looks to me like Burak has the right drivers for you. hopefully this solves all your recent problems.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 03:54
The drivers didnt install as they were for windows vista 32-bit :(

If there was one for windows XP that would be great!

Burak???

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 04:00
Aye mate!
http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/winxp-258.96-whql-driver-uk.html
:D

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 04:12
Thanks mate, your a lifesaver ;)

After this download i am going to bed, im nackered! its 4:12am for christ sake :L

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 04:38
Failed,

couldnt work beacause it couldnt locate any drivers that were compatible with my current hardware... or something along those lines :(

Im going to bed, Anymore solutions welcome, i will read them, just not until tomorrow :)

Thanks for all the help so far,
Andy

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 05:04
Sorry about that!
I found another source, right from the manufacturer's website:
ftp://ftp.download.packardbell.com/DESKTOP/iMedia%20%282005-2007%29/Driver/Xp/
This time, most probably your driver is there. However, those drivers are for all the iMedia series produced between 2005 and 2007. So you still have to know what kind of GPU you have, and download the appropriate driver from that list.

Options:
1- Take a screwdriver and open the PC, look at the graphic card yourself.
2- Ring Packard Bell customer service and ask them.

Good luck.

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 14:27
Thanks Burak, i will try to download this :)

If it doesnt work i wouldnt want to ruin my computer by un-screwing stuff :/

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 14:28
ahh, and which one of the list should i choose?

AndyRich
31-08-2010, 14:52
Burakkk????

BurakUeda
31-08-2010, 14:56
That's what I mentioned in my last post.
I don't know. There are lots of graphic drivers there, you have to find out which graphic card you have in your PC.
Either you have to ask Packard Bell, or open the box yourself :)

AndyRich
02-09-2010, 14:22
Right,

I have gone down the list installing all those things, just to see if one worked, lol but the it says the "Driver Control Panel cannot be installed correctly because your Driver is not working properly."

Therefore i believe my display driver somehow broke, hense why it is not there when it is searched for and why nothing is downloadable to get it working again.

If anyone knows anything about how to fix broken drivers, or what i must do next, it would be much appriciated :)

Burakkk??? :L

BurakUeda
02-09-2010, 15:15
Andy, that is worst thing you could do.
It is not a good idea to try to install bunch of incompatible/wrong drivers into your computer.
The best way was to find out the model of your GPU first, and than check the list if there is any driver with the same model name.

Did you check the GPU model by the way?

AndyRich
04-09-2010, 12:44
No, as i do not know how :(

If you tell me how i can find my GPU, then ill find it, you can tell me what to install, and all will be well :)

Andy

Jedaye
05-09-2010, 01:57
Have you opened up the pc and seen if there are any stickers on it? At the very least there is some sort of indication on the make of the gxc card somewhere then we might be able to suggest something. At the moment we are just guessing.

AndyRich
05-09-2010, 01:58
Ok i will try to find out, thanks