PDA

View Full Version : FM 2008 Computer Benchmark



Dart
20-10-2007, 02:16
Hi, Reading this post: http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/521102691/m/4162001253
I came up with a idea, itĀ“s simple:
-Start a new game
-Choose England All divisions
-Medium database
-Untick the box "Allow transfer budget..."
When the new game is loaded:
-In options/detail level Set the club competitions and International competions to Maximum and confirm.
-Start unemployed
-Now go on holiday until 31 august, without interfering.
-Start the stopwatch
-Post your results and computer specs here:

Mine:

AMD X2 6000
2 GB DDR2 667
HD SAMSUNG SATA2 7200RPM
WINDOWS XP SP2

My time:
35 min. 28 sec.

I have noticed that this years version use much less RAM than previous years (Kudos to SI, cause all other games just **** with our pockets asking for more & more ram, cpu,...).
And like SI said before, the save & load times are much better !!!

Sorry for my bad english, itĀ“s not my native language...

Dart
20-10-2007, 02:16
Hi, Reading this post: http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/521102691/m/4162001253
I came up with a idea, itĀ“s simple:
-Start a new game
-Choose England All divisions
-Medium database
-Untick the box "Allow transfer budget..."
When the new game is loaded:
-In options/detail level Set the club competitions and International competions to Maximum and confirm.
-Start unemployed
-Now go on holiday until 31 august, without interfering.
-Start the stopwatch
-Post your results and computer specs here:

Mine:

AMD X2 6000
2 GB DDR2 667
HD SAMSUNG SATA2 7200RPM
WINDOWS XP SP2

My time:
35 min. 28 sec.

I have noticed that this years version use much less RAM than previous years (Kudos to SI, cause all other games just **** with our pockets asking for more & more ram, cpu,...).
And like SI said before, the save & load times are much better !!!

Sorry for my bad english, itĀ“s not my native language...

SCIAG
20-10-2007, 02:18
What do you mean, sorry for your bad english? Your English is better than a lot of English people!

Good idea, but I don't have enough RAM to start the experiment in the first place.

Dart
20-10-2007, 02:20
SCIAG: Thanks man !!! Means a lot to me.

DietSpam
20-10-2007, 02:21
Aye, i've noticed this version of FM doesn't use as much memory as FM 07.

MrPompey
20-10-2007, 02:55
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by DietSpam:
Aye, i've noticed this version of FM doesn't use as much memory as FM 07. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
I think this is a great idea

An even better idea is to do the same with FM2007 for an even better comparison

Dart - Yep your written english is fine and I agree with Sciag, well done!

George Graham
20-10-2007, 04:03
Core 2 Duo E6850
4gb DDR2 800
WD 350gb SATA HD
Windows Vista 64

32m 12s

NB- My real game has all leagues loaded on a large database -although only about 12 playable. So you should be able to do the same. http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Dart
20-10-2007, 04:56
Mr Pompey: Thanks man !

George: Great ! in my real game I run all leagues on a large database also !!! The feeling of immersion is much greater.

Juhuli
20-10-2007, 05:45
Core 2 Q6600 @3.0 GHZ
2 gb DDR2 800
WD 74Gb Raptor
Windows Vista 32

16m 29s

GR8Madmax
20-10-2007, 06:20
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Juhuli:
Core 2 Q6600 @3.0 GHZ
2 gb DDR2 800
WD 74Gb Raptor
Windows Vista 32

16m 29s </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for running the test. It helps my decision when picking a new CPU.

It shows that Quad Core is the way to go.

the_spoony_bard
20-10-2007, 06:27
saving and loading is much, much better which really is a good thing.

MixitupMixitdictator
20-10-2007, 06:34
always chose large db imo

McDoul
20-10-2007, 06:50
Core 2 Duo E6850
4GB Corsair XMS2 Pro DHT Quad
RAID0 Striped WD2500Y 250GB x 2
Vista 64 Ultimate

You must be doing something wrong, either that or have very poorly configured PC's.

All English Divisions
Medium Database
No Transfer Budgets
All comps to Maximum
Unemployed
On Holiday until August 31st....

3mins 34 seconds...

Proper setup and config the way to go it would seem.

McDoul
20-10-2007, 06:58
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Juhuli:
Core 2 Q6600 @3.0 GHZ
2 gb DDR2 800
WD 74Gb Raptor
Windows Vista 32

16m 29s </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Something seriously slow going on there. What timings are your RAM running at?

Juhuli
20-10-2007, 07:10
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:
Core 2 Duo E6850
4GB Corsair XMS2 Pro DHT Quad
RAID0 Striped WD2500Y 250GB x 2
Vista 64 Ultimate

You must be doing something wrong, either that or have very poorly configured PC's.

All English Divisions
Medium Database
No Transfer Budgets
All comps to Maximum
Unemployed
On Holiday until August 31st....

3mins 34 seconds...

Proper setup and config the way to go it would seem. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I really doubt that result. Just tested again this time using minimum detail on everything, and the result was 2m 38s.

McDoul
20-10-2007, 07:28
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Juhuli:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:
Core 2 Duo E6850
4GB Corsair XMS2 Pro DHT Quad
RAID0 Striped WD2500Y 250GB x 2
Vista 64 Ultimate

You must be doing something wrong, either that or have very poorly configured PC's.

All English Divisions
Medium Database
No Transfer Budgets
All comps to Maximum
Unemployed
On Holiday until August 31st....

3mins 34 seconds...

Proper setup and config the way to go it would seem. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I really doubt that result. Just tested again this time using minimum detail on everything, and the result was 2m 38s. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Why doubt it? http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

You set the guidelines?

You've only got 2GB of 667, I'm running 4GB of matched Quad 800 @ 834.

Incidentally, that was with DDT's for about 12000 extra players.

DJdeMarco
20-10-2007, 07:40
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ (2.01 ghz)
2 GB DDR2 667
HD Seagate IDE 7200RPM
Windows Vista Ultimate

My time:
18 min. 26 sec.

Juhuli
20-10-2007, 07:46
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:


Why doubt it? http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

You set the guidelines?

You've only got 2GB of 667, I'm running 4GB of matched Quad 800 @ 834.

Incidentally, that was with DDT's for about 12000 extra players. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Because there's no way you are running this test in 3 mins. if you have all details set to maximum. No way.

And besides you have dual-core which roughly takes twice the time to calculate a match in full-detail, if I have understand the threading used in FM correctly.

RICO
20-10-2007, 08:00
Quad 2.40ghz with 2gb ram

22 mins 7 sec

VonBlade
20-10-2007, 08:05
Actually this is an inaccurate benchmark. What you really should test is the time between setting the game up and being able to add a manager.

If you test the time between starting unemployed and six weeks later, you're introducing a ton of variables with players moving to teams and other stuff. Whereas a pure db load and setup (about 3 countries) has the same overheads on everyones version.
VB

Legends Wear 7
20-10-2007, 08:09
00:11:30.841

Q6600 Quad @2.4ghz
4gb PC-6400 RAM 4-4-4-12
500gb SATAII 7200RPM
Vista Ultimate 64bit

No-way can i believe 3mins on McDoul's setup.

DJdeMarco
20-10-2007, 08:20
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VonBlade:
Actually this is an inaccurate benchmark. What you really should test is the time between setting the game up and being able to add a manager.

If you test the time between starting unemployed and six weeks later, you're introducing a ton of variables with players moving to teams and other stuff. Whereas a pure db load and setup (about 3 countries) has the same overheads on everyones version.
VB </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

With the allow transfer budget unticked that shouldn't be the case though.

RICO
20-10-2007, 08:21
doesn't effect free transfers

DJdeMarco
20-10-2007, 08:31
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RICO:
doesn't effect free transfers </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Good point.

McDoul
20-10-2007, 08:41
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VonBlade:
Actually this is an inaccurate benchmark. What you really should test is the time between setting the game up and being able to add a manager.

If you test the time between starting unemployed and six weeks later, you're introducing a ton of variables with players moving to teams and other stuff. Whereas a pure db load and setup (about 3 countries) has the same overheads on everyones version.
VB </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Exactly.

I've tested this 8 times now and had everything from 3.34 up to 21.47, on full detail.

Minimum detail also saw times from 2.58 through 12.14.

There's all kindsa stuff gong on, with number of friendlies having a clear effect.

All kind of irrelevant really, particularly since my setup seems persistently more stable and responsive than many prebuilt Quad Cores.



Koinda depends on what I'm doing at the time, but that said, the laughable declarations of discontent simply smack of Quad Core owners being disgruntled at a Dual Core outperforming them.

McDoul
20-10-2007, 08:48
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Legends Wear 7:
00:11:30.841

Q6600 Quad @2.4ghz
4gb PC-6400 RAM 4-4-4-12
500gb SATAII 7200RPM
Vista Ultimate 64bit

No-way can i believe 3mins on McDoul's setup. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Up to you mate, not for you to believe is it?

It's there as a statement of fact, I've no need of lying, and with so many variables in hand it's impossible to see why your's seems so slow.

I should mention I've got WMP11, Outlook, Sidebar, Last.fm, and 7 or 8 IE Tabs on the go for some of the slower times.

Q6600 runs much hotter than E6850 and is only 2.4GHz per core with FM not exactly threading well on multicore CPU's.

CAS 3 RAM as well? Interleaved? Manual settings or auto? Memory remap enabled for 64bit? 4x1 or 2x2 sticks? Motherboard? Bus Bandwidth? What are your Northbridge BIOS settings?

Yeah, not the cut and dried case some of you think it is.

Also what stepping are all your Q6600's? Are they thermal efficient models?

List goes on tbf.

Juhuli
20-10-2007, 09:16
Okey, I just ran this test again and to everyones suprise the result was: 16m 32s. This was with a new game, so it really dosen't make a big difference running the same test twice.

So have everyone who has run this test, have the preset configurations for club competitions and international competitions set for maximum? Because only by doing this the results can be compared.

Setting the presets to maximum every single match, including friendlies, reserves and U18 matches are being played full-detail, so its just simply not possible to run this test in 3min.

McDoul
20-10-2007, 09:22
Clearly tho it is.

I'll put it down to FM havng a moment, but it's still done better that 16 mins on 4 occasions in full detail.

Love the way your choosing to forget that you have half the RAM I have have avoided answering any of the questions above.

On some of these faster ones I've barely seen any friendlies processed, luck of the draw tbh, not remotely scientific or even reliable.

Dart
20-10-2007, 12:23
Hi everybody, thanks for all the tests, but ITS A MUST set:

-In options/detail level Set the club competitions and International competions to Maximum and confirm.

Like i said in the first post, so we can compare results !!!

DeathReborn
21-10-2007, 08:09
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 @ 3.6GHz *water cooled*
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS2 DHX 800MHz 5-5-5-18 *brand new*

11 min 42 sec

Dart
21-10-2007, 13:41
DeathReborn: WOW ThatĀ“s fast !!!

Dart
22-10-2007, 05:03
Seens like memory speed donĀ“t make a big difference in FM, overclocked mine from 667 to 800, and the time went to 34.59, just 26 seconds faster...

Recury
22-10-2007, 07:03
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:
I should mention I've got WMP11, Outlook, Sidebar, Last.fm, and 7 or 8 IE Tabs on the go for some of the slower times.

Q6600 runs much hotter than E6850 and is only 2.4GHz per core with FM not exactly threading well on multicore CPU's.

CAS 3 RAM as well? Interleaved? Manual settings or auto? Memory remap enabled for 64bit? 4x1 or 2x2 sticks? Motherboard? Bus Bandwidth? What are your Northbridge BIOS settings?

Yeah, not the cut and dried case some of you think it is.

Also what stepping are all your Q6600's? Are they thermal efficient models?

List goes on tbf. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol, sad

DeathReborn
22-10-2007, 07:13
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Dart:
DeathReborn: WOW ThatĀ“s fast !!! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It's slightly faster when I use 15K RPM SCSI Hard Drives instead of Western Digital Raptors.

Barcelona is just slightly slower than the Core 2 Quad (both at 2GHz) but Phenom might improve that with HT3.

Dart
29-10-2007, 03:19
I just made the same test using the original setup, but now using the 8.0.1 beta patch and the result is:

51 min 47 sec.

Almost 50% slower than with the original version( 35 min. 28 sec.).

So, itĀ“s a fact, the beta patch slowed the game.

ths
29-10-2007, 03:30
just a question there, are we talking about 31th of august the same year or 31/8/2008???

Dart
29-10-2007, 03:51
THS: The same year 31/08/2007

ucant
29-10-2007, 05:09
my results with a:
Intel core duo E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
4GB Ram @ 800Mhz
Vista 64 bits

3'40''

good!!

foonr
29-10-2007, 12:10
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Recury:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:
I should mention I've got WMP11, Outlook, Sidebar, Last.fm, and 7 or 8 IE Tabs on the go for some of the slower times.

Q6600 runs much hotter than E6850 and is only 2.4GHz per core with FM not exactly threading well on multicore CPU's.

CAS 3 RAM as well? Interleaved? Manual settings or auto? Memory remap enabled for 64bit? 4x1 or 2x2 sticks? Motherboard? Bus Bandwidth? What are your Northbridge BIOS settings?

Yeah, not the cut and dried case some of you think it is.

Also what stepping are all your Q6600's? Are they thermal efficient models?

List goes on tbf. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol, sad </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

i lol'd

Warrenwwr
29-10-2007, 12:50
ok. the people getting timings under 5 minutes now need to load up all world leagues with the same conditions as before.

and tell me the time.

then i will really know what pc configuration to go for.

DFO
30-10-2007, 01:28
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by foonr:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Recury:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by McDoul:
I should mention I've got WMP11, Outlook, Sidebar, Last.fm, and 7 or 8 IE Tabs on the go for some of the slower times.

Q6600 runs much hotter than E6850 and is only 2.4GHz per core with FM not exactly threading well on multicore CPU's.

CAS 3 RAM as well? Interleaved? Manual settings or auto? Memory remap enabled for 64bit? 4x1 or 2x2 sticks? Motherboard? Bus Bandwidth? What are your Northbridge BIOS settings?

Yeah, not the cut and dried case some of you think it is.

Also what stepping are all your Q6600's? Are they thermal efficient models?

List goes on tbf. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

lol, sad </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

i lol'd </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

WHS.

Tasque
29-12-2007, 15:16
There really should be an official SI Games FM benchmark.

muncherdave
29-12-2007, 21:30
26mins just to get to the 21st july, the tests too long for us poor people with the likes of just a 2.2GHz processor, aborted http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

scaffscazz
30-12-2007, 02:28
i know i have 4 gigs of ram but how do i find out what type it is

T-Bag
30-12-2007, 03:31
erm where is this option to set it to "maximum detail" ?

I ran it on my old A64 which is overclocked to 2.2hghz (can't remember what the default speed is) 2 gig of ram and it took:

8 minutes.

I presume i've done something wrong looking at the other times but I can't find this option for maximum detail.

chuzcredit
30-12-2007, 03:52
Well I thought McDoul was full of it too until I tried it on mine, though now I'm convinced I missed something...
Intel Core2Duo, 2.4ghz
4gb RAM, I think 667 (note 32 bit vista limits to 3200mb ram)
Vista 32
400gb western digital hdd

3mins, 37secs
I also noted that cpu1 stayed around 60% and occasionally spiked to 75% and cpu2 stayed around 45%. RAM usage was about 40% if it means anything to ppl

chuzcredit
30-12-2007, 04:16
Hoooooooly mother of god. Forgot the maximum detail rubbish and boy did that make a difference! Got sick of it 20mins in and I was barely into August

dane0
30-12-2007, 04:51
2 ghz Intel Core2Duo
1 GB DDR RAM
5200 RPM harddrive
Mac OSX

5 mins 04 secs.


I was surprised my computer did so well with only 1 GB RAM...

bridport_pouncer
30-12-2007, 10:26
I'm no computer wizard - but don't background tasks and things running in the background such as an Anti-Virus Program or MSN slow the process down?

To speed my game up I cancel all these processes on the Task Manager... Does it really make a difference - or is it my imagination!

http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

The Gaffovski
30-12-2007, 12:28
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by bridport_james:
I'm no computer wizard - but don't background tasks and things running in the background such as an Anti-Virus Program or MSN slow the process down?

To speed my game up I cancel all these processes on the Task Manager... Does it really make a difference - or is it my imagination!

http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, you are right. Testing this is a good idea, but it needs a little more work to come up with a definitive benchmark one for everyone (if that is even possible).

Schwarz
09-01-2008, 11:13
Q6600 @ 2.4 GHZ overclocked to 3 GHZ
2x 1gb RAM 667 overclocked to 810 (fsb overclock)
All competitions, including reserve and u18 on full detail: 19:30 mins

This field intentionally left blank
09-01-2008, 18:32
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Model Dell XPS710
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~3192 Mhz
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~3192 Mhz
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~3192 Mhz
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~3192 Mhz
Total Physical Memory 4,096.00 MB
2x Model ST3750640AS 1.4TB Drives in RAID 0

Maximum detail: 23:24
Minimum detail: 3:14