One thing I'd like to see in the next version...

Since CM 96, when I was a grad student from the US new to the UK and just learning about the series, I've been addicted to the game. However, the past version, according to the statistics, I've played about 6 hours. Partly, work responsibilities have intruded, but a bigger factor is the incredible investment of time required to get a serious game up and running. While I applaud the growing sophistication of the game (except for the motivation module which seems arbitrary and broken), I just can't bring myself to invest the time required to maximize the potential of my team.

I'm sure others feel this way as well. Playing as Juventus, typically, it takes so long to sort out the coaching, the scouting, the training and, to a lesser extent, the tactics. In fact, I enjoy the tactical module and have read extensively from the FM Tactics bible and forum (although, again, I think there are certain assumptions that underpin the engine that are flawed). However, I can't understand why a team of the stature of Juve (even given current struggles) has such poor coaching and scouting assets at the beginning of the game. I don't expect to leave it as is, but, frankly, the coaching and scouting personnel as generated (given that the DB doesn't have a lot of attributes set for these) mean that all needs to be addressed before moving on. I would expect that the staff at major clubs should require a minor tweak to get, say, above average coaching and good scouting. A quick look at the Juve staff page shows the incredible size of the scouting and coaching team (which will be no different for any team that operates typically in Europe). This is not represented in the game and it takes an incredible amount of time. As well, it means that the 'no transfer funds in the first transfer window' option can't be used.