PDA

View Full Version : game cannot be loaded



united
16-07-2010, 17:38
Hi

I had a power cut last night while in the middle of a game - when the computer came back on and I went to load last saved game it just says game cannot be loaded.
I have tried loading up another saved game and it doesnt like that either.

Anyone know how I can solve it? I dont really want to have to reinstall it.

Hershie
16-07-2010, 17:44
If it's affecting all saves I'd try reinstalling.

Jedaye
16-07-2010, 17:46
Strange that the power cut would cause the save file to corrupt if it wasn't saving at the time. Stranger still that its damaged 2 saves. Did the pc make any unexpected noises as it closed down during the power cut? It might be worth checking if your hard drive has any bad sectors with chkdsck and/or the makers own software.

united
16-07-2010, 18:09
No strange noises and dont think it was saving at the time. Have never had anything corrupted by a power cut before

trekman
16-07-2010, 18:21
First do as suggested and try checking your hard drive for errors. Then try starting a completely new game and try saving it after you've played a few games. If it doesnt save properly or at all then you'll know that the problem lies with your computer. You should also do a defrag I think as well.