New Guy Into FM2010

To quickly introduce myself, I'm a 24 year old Out of the Park Baseball fan, who has known about FM for quite some time, but never sparked the interested to actually try it out.

This year I started playing some rec league soccer to rekindle my childhood memories of playing, and have been having a blast. I also have been following the World Cup fairly closely, and begun reading wiki's for European Football.

I think I have a fairly basic understanding of how the game works. I've been playing Vanilla for 10-15 hours now, and decided to purchase the game to get further involved.

Here's a few questions some may be able to help me out with.

Is there any fun in playing with a MLS team? I like the idea of working myself up through the system, and since I'm from America, starting in America. Is there any chance the league gains respectability years into a sim?

In the Vanilla version I have been playing with Fulham FC, and had some good success. I beat Villareal in a close game in group play for one of the cups, but I also lost a few games to teams I should have beat.

How often do players get rotated typically? I noticed I run out my "best" players game after game, as long as they have the endurance to do so.

Also I looked at the training screen and had no idea what I was looking at, some players had up arrows, some had down arrows, am I supposed to be doing things to manipulate how these guys get better?

I have paid little attention to my reserves/U18s rosters? Do players go up and down quite often or not at all?

I have been trying different tactics and have seen some luck with some, and had disastrous results with others, is there any tutorials or guides to help one gain an idea of what might be a good idea with the team present?

Also is there a guide for which ratings are important for certain positions or roles?

Is there an easy way to see if I'm getting fleeced in a transfer deal?