Suggestion: Youth Academy Preferences

Newgens usually appear in your youth team aged between 15-17 years old. Most players will obviously be at a club from a much younger age, and so the game basically simulates their time before they appear in the youth side.

As a manager, I think it'd be useful (and realistic) if you were able to set a preference for your youth academy which slightly biased the type of players you'd get as newgens, to match your football philosophy.

So at a very simple level, let's say you get to choose between:

-balanced

-physical

-technical

-tactical.

If you chose balanced, your newgens would have attributes much as they do now, largely determined by what position they play. If you chose to emphasise physical development, they'd be *slightly* more weighted towards having better physical attributes at the expense of technical and mental/tactical attributes; whereas if you chose technical, they'd be *slightly* more likely to have good technical attributes, etc.

You get the idea. Not a huge change, but something which would add a bit of a personal element to youth development.

:thup:

Love it

although i'd also like to see younger players/teams on FM (apparently there are child protection issues, but why don't we just have made-up players?? it's not like anyone's gonna care about some random 12 yr old not bein on the game, is it?)

It's something that would need to be done gradually- for example, I don't think we'd have any say on how the first batch of regens develop, because they'll be too far along already.

A spanner- how much do real first team managers have to do with academy development? Would that not be to do with the academy director and the youth coaches?

:thup: for the idea but only if there is some randomness for exp if i choose tactical it would be unrealistic all of the players to be better in mental stats then technical or physical.