Most bizarre Champions League exit... ever!

First off, I'm no FM expert but I've played the game since CM2 and always been pretty successful. But in FM2008 I just cannot seem to win the Champions League with Chelsea and my most recent exit just about took the biscuit.

Having emerged from a difficult group including Barcelona, I progressed to the semis (recovering from 2-0 down against Inter in the quarters to win 3-2). Drew Spurs in the Semis.

First leg at the Bridge 0-0. Second leg at their place, 5 minutes in they take a throw to the edge of our box and Daniel Alves overhead kicks his clearance into the top corner of his own net from 15 yards! Try as we might and despite dominating the game we cant score and go out to bloody Tottenham.

Suffice it to say this rather took the gloss of winning the league by 16 points!

I seem to have a recurring pattern of conceding an early goal in the Champions League knock out stages and not being able to recover. Should I be more cautious 'early doors'?

I also find the CL extremely difficult, and I don't think there is any definate way round it. I usually go a bit more defensive away and more attacking at home, but that didn't help me win with FC Bayern.

At Barcelona I went gung ho every match and lost heavily away, but thumped teams at home.

Originally posted by Nomis07:

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Digs_473:

It HAS to be a bug. icon_rolleyes.gif

Lol, I assume you're joking. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Fortunately, yes.

I use the same style in the Champions league as I do in the Bundesliga for Werder Bremen. First season we banged and crashed our way to the semi-finals, much to my astonishment, drawing 2-2 at home to Real Madrid before getting caned in Spain - we were both top scorers and top conceders that year.