Linux porting

Hi!

First of all, thanks for this awesome game. I've been playing since 2006, and this 2010 is really amazing. Really, a great job.

But I have a little doubt about the developing. The game is written in Java (just a little of research), and is compatible with Windows and Mac system. Is really so hard to make it works on Unix/Linux systems? One of the advantages of main features of Java is that it is multi-platform, and everything you write in Java, should work on any system.

Taking that in count, why Sports Interactive do not release a native version for Linux? Nowadays, distributions like Ubuntu are increasing the users of this kind of system, and would be great to enjoy games like this in our computers, no matter what system we use.

I'm aware that the game use to work using wine, but since the game is written in Java, it shouldn't be necessary.

How do you know it's written in Java?

I think it's graphics engine that is the main problem area here.

Well, launching the game using wine on Linux, you can follow a trace, and throws some Java exceptions. And also if you see the installation folder, you could see a sub-folder named JRE (Java Runtime Environment).

About the graphics engine, I don't think so. If it's works on Windows & Mac, probably is written with OpenGL, wich is also multi-platform.

Probably I'm wrong in one of this affirmations, but is just a doubt in my head waiting for response :)

Tbh, I don't think the Linux user range is large enough for them to release versions for Linux.

Also, consider that Linux derives from Unix (IIRC), as does Mac. Or something along them lines, so technically speaking Mac and Linux use the same platform.

But as said, I don't expect that the Linux user range is large enough.

I think you're write about Java though I've never tried to run FM on Linux. In fact it's for FM, I'm still dual booting to Windows. :(