Buying quality players

Hello,

I am very kind of new to this game (only played one season with Valencia in Laliga).

Anyways, I am getting ready for the Champions League. I fear that my team is simply not good enough. I have budget of ~45 million euros. The problem is that I can't find quality players (3.5 star of higher) at reasonable prices. The teams ask for 2 or 3 times the value of the players. To add to the dilemma, I have a lot of reserves which I want to sell. But even at 75% of their value, very few want to buy them. I realize that all this is a recipe of long-term inviability.

Is there something I am missing? Again, I just bought FM a week ago, so I am very new. Please help!

Thanks and regards.

Hello,

I am very kind of new to this game (only played one season with Valencia in Laliga).

Anyways, I am getting ready for the Champions League. I fear that my team is simply not good enough. I have budget of ~45 million euros. The problem is that I can't find quality players (3.5 star of higher) at reasonable prices. The teams ask for 2 or 3 times the value of the players. To add to the dilemma, I have a lot of reserves which I want to sell. But even at 75% of their value, very few want to buy them. I realize that all this is a recipe of long-term inviability.

Is there something I am missing? Again, I just bought FM a week ago, so I am very new. Please help!

Thanks and regards.

First thing you need to know is that the star ratings that your scouts are giving to players are not absolute, but rather relative to your current squad (and to some extent, league) so a player that your scouts rate 3 stars is actually a very good player. That same player if scouted by a lower league team would probably come out as 5 star. If scouted by Barca, he may come out as 2 stars.