Can you have one shot and score please?!

I remember sarcastically using this phrase back on the old Champ Man series back at the end of the 90s - you would have 20 shots to the opposition's one and lose 1-0 on a regular basis.

Well blow me if it isn't happening all over again! Managing Chester, now in the Conference North. I keep murdering teams 25-30 shots to 2 or 3 and either losing 1-0 after hitting the woodwork 9 times and missing 2 penalties, or scraping a draw, maybe 0-0 or 1-1. I can accept losing the odd game you dominate, but it is literally every game, especially at home!

I have played the FM/CM series for 20 years, so I am no novice, but the reappearance of this is mystifying! Are Chester just a jinxed club?! Any one experiencing this? What did you do to stop the rot?

Oh, and why can't I terminate a loan any more???

I must admit that I've been having similar thoughts recently. I'm managing Plymouth in League 1 and so far (jinx alert) I'm topping the table comfortably in January. However (and this is my second season with Plymouth at that level so I've had a while to think about it) I am almost never comfortable watching a game because the AI has developed a habit which I last saw in 01/02 long saves of scoring with their first shot on target and scoring about 50%-70% of shots on target overall. I have seen comebacks (from both sides) from 3-1 and even 3-0 down multiple times and it means you can never relax because you never know when the AI is going to come at you and start firing goals from all angles.