Noooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

i just started up a new game with everton, and when i saved it i pressed control and s and it saved straight away without asking what do you want to save file name as, and it saved over my united game which i had played over 7 seasons in and was really enjoying it. why didnt the game ask me what i wanted to save the game as and just overwrite my other game... ive gt a backup save some where on my pc but its only like 2 seasons in. is there a spftware that would let me recover my game. or did i just spent all that time for no reason

You would think people would learn to at least use a 3 save rolling option, so at worst you only lose a month or so of gameplay.

It's harsh, but you really should be more careful. I now autosave every week, have a 3 save backup for each game so this doesn't happen to me. FM10 saves so ridiculously fast that it's no hassle to autosave, unlike FM08 or FM09. I'm not an expert on recovering files, but now that it's overwritten it could be tough to recover it.. because it hasn't actually been deleted or anything, just the data has been re-written.

Are you sure you don't have a backup of the save somewhere? By default, it makes 3 saves, I think..

yeh managing man utd, anyways disaster has been solved, windows 7 probably the best thing ive ever bought, when i went to my save file there was an option there to restore the file to a previous version and the latest version i could restore was to one earlier this week, got my game back.WOOOOOHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! from now on i am going to use the rolling auto save

Ah, that's good to hear UF, I didn't know about that myself.. but I'm not an expert. Good to hear you got your file back though. Anyway, rolling auto save is good - takes no time at all to do and can save a lot of trouble!