Advice sought - building towards the "next level"

If this is in the wrong forum - feel free to move it ;-).

I'm looking for some input from some of the more expert players. I've got extensive experience in FM06 - but really, not much beyond that (a wee bit in 04,05 and 09 - not much beyond that - check out posts from Herefordmgr in the story forum if you want a look at my FM06 career).

Anyway - I'm currently with Luton (first season of this new save). We're currently in 2nd in the BSP, 3 points behind York (who have 51 points from 21 league games, compared to my 48 points), players are happy - chemistry is REALLY good among players and staff, and the board are "satisfied" with my performance (typical assessment from the Luton board, who never seem to go beyond "satisfied").

Anyway - my asst. mgr report is generally very good with most areas receiving 4 or 4.5 stars (although I know where I should improve). The question I have is this -- my ast mgr's determination is low (5), jpa is medium-ish (10) and jpp is about the same (11). So - how much of a grain of salt should those 4 and 4.5 star ratings be taken - AND more importantly, how should they be viewed in terms of my potential for success in the League 2 and beyond?

My thinking is this - I want to build for the future - so any players I attempt to aquire (particularly in the summer) will be those who are suitable for league 1 play (always thinking two divisions ahead). Does this make sense - and has anyone else attempted this philosophy when working with a weaker-division club?

Finally (sorry for a sort of rambling post) - any recommendations on how many new players is "acceptable" in a given situation (as a general rule) without upsetting the balance of the squad? I know player personality type and things like that factor in - I'm just looking for recommendations/advice.

Thx..

-Ian.

PS

Will likely be posting my career in the stories eventually.