lots of questions

I'm somewhat new to soccer but I've always been interested in the sport but haven't gotten too much exposure because I'm an American. I've gotten about 3 days of play time on FM10 and I have a ton of questions.

I have a lot of trouble against teams I should be destroying. when odds are like 10-1 for my opponent I normally play with "attacking" and but when the other team is playing a counter or defensive style I always get drawn into a 1-1 draw or even a loss some times. I lost or tied to more longshots than I did to team rated higher than me. I play as Arsenal btw and normally play 4-3-3.

That brings up the question of what do you do when you're playing a team that is technically inferior but have a defensive/counter style. that is my biggest problem

A general soccer question I have is, what do I do to counter 4-5-1. I'm constantly told that I have trouble beating this formation but I don't really understand why. I'm missing some fundamental soccer knowledge. I've googled strengths and weaknesses of formations but I just don't know why I lose to 4-5-1.