Quality of chances v. quantity of chances

I am a high school soccer coach and I coach this game WITH THE SAME EXACT TACTIC I EMPLOY IRL. We use a defensive counter-attack mindset, typically operated out of the 4-4-2 with a wide diamond midfield. IRL and on this game, I routinely get outshot and outpossessed. However, I still win because the quality of my chances exceeds that of my opponents. Many, many games on here, I have five or fewer shots. My opponents will have anywhere from fifteen to twenty shots for the same game yet I still win because of the quality of my chances. My tactics do not offer too many rebound opportunities nor do they allow the CPU to have too many breakaways. The game I play is not technically beautiful but it is functionally proficient. I want to go on record here and say that FOR SOME TACTICAL MODELS, time of possession and shots is OVERRATED. I read thread after thread about how folks win those two categories, come away with a loss and blame the game. My high school team was outshot 24 - 2 two season ago and we won 2 - 0. We allowed their eleven to ALL cross into our half of play and we ran a dump-and-run counter-attack and beat them. This was not against a nobody team from our conference; it was from a perennial conference power (Evergreen, for anyone who knows Colorado high school soccer). What I want to know is how many of you out there do not outshoot or outpossess your opponents but still win? Post your experiences here. For the players who DO outshoot/outpossess and, therefore, think victory is deserved, feel free to post but please understand your tactical model might not be as good as you think.

Regardless of how many post here, I will post the results of my next three games to demonstrate that this tactic CAN work effectively, if implemented comprehensively. Also, I want to reiterate that shots/possession are overrated. Here is my first reporting.