What is a good average rating?

As a manager, i use all possible avenues within the game to try and exploit every last bit of performance from my players. From press conferences, to media interaction, to team talks, i find im pretty proficient in pepping my players up. Now, i understand getting every player to have an average rating of 9.9/10.0 of the last 5 games is impossible, so my question to you guys is: Just what do you count as an acceptable average rating?

For me, anything averaging over say 7.2 in 5 games is good enough. Its not poor, but not excellent and if the whole of my team produces these sorts of performances, then generally results go in my favour. So far, just my regular starting XI have an average of:

GK - 7.32

DR - 7.10

DC - 7.30

DC - 7.22

DL - 7.30

MR - 7.00

MC - 7.10

MC - 7.42

ML - 7.46

ST - 7.38

ST - 7.54

Thats not bad IMO, so what are your views? What do you accept before you start thinking about dropping players? Are these numbers helpful? By that i mean i've had players that have appeared to do well, but by looking at things over the 5 game period, it appears they have flattered to decieve. Share your views :)

First, I believe it depends on the league you are playing in. I typically manage MLS. In MLS, anything over 7.0 is quite good and anything over 7.2 is great. In fact, I consider players of 6.8 or better to be fine for MLS. To answer this question for yourself, do a quick look at the other teams in your league. Look at the average ratings of the top-2 teams, 2 teams from the middle of the table and the bottom-2 teams. This will give you a quick idea of where your boys should fall.

I'm happy with around 6.7 or above usually, if I'm a better side I'll demand more though.