PDA

View Full Version : No 2D engine on FM for PSP?



Sir Real Porno
09-02-2006, 15:47
Just found this out. Surely if developers like Rckstart can fi a living, breathing and bloody well huge and beautiful 3D world into GTA Liberty City Stories, then a 2D match engine for a Footie Management sim shouldn't be beyond the realms of possibility?

Im no expert and maybe there's a genuine reason why it wasn't able to be included, but if the twonks over at Eidos can put it into crappy old CM too, then what the hell is up?!

Very disappointed to read this yesterday.

Sir Real Porno
09-02-2006, 15:47
Just found this out. Surely if developers like Rckstart can fi a living, breathing and bloody well huge and beautiful 3D world into GTA Liberty City Stories, then a 2D match engine for a Footie Management sim shouldn't be beyond the realms of possibility?

Im no expert and maybe there's a genuine reason why it wasn't able to be included, but if the twonks over at Eidos can put it into crappy old CM too, then what the hell is up?!

Very disappointed to read this yesterday.

Optimistic Dave
09-02-2006, 16:01
I wouldn't worry about it. Half the threads on here are complaints about the match engine so it might be a blessing in disguise!

SoulRebelLam
09-02-2006, 16:10
It would be too small to see anyway, would it not?

Sir Real Porno
09-02-2006, 17:43
1. I like the match engine, am totally familiar with the game as I have owned every version since the very first Domark release on the Amiga back in the day.

2. The screen wouldn't be too small, I think.

Sir Real Porno
09-02-2006, 22:56
Just saw thread from yesterday/earlier. My bad. Wrote this in a hurry this morning in work.

Marc Vaughan
10-02-2006, 00:09
We've been quite open about this from the outset - the game is designed to be more similar to our third series of management games and uses an evolved text match engine from those products.

We would have loved to put a 2D engine into the game, unfortunately the processor in the device can't support the full FM PC match engine (well unless you wanted to wait 15 seconds for it whenever you did a tactics change http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ) and we didn't want to release a non-realistic 2D view.

PS> The reason GTA etc. can do pretty graphics is because they don't have much AI behind them (its 95% graphics, 5% AI) and so can do a lot of the rendering etc. on the graphics chips, our match engine is 99% AI, 1% graphics ... hence our match engine relies on the main CPU.

Younger Crayola
10-02-2006, 02:20
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">O
Im no expert and maybe there's a genuine reason why it wasn't able to be included, but if the twonks over at Eidos can put it into crappy old CM too, then what the hell is up?! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

There's putting a 2D engine in... and then there's putting a 2D engine in that is actually worth using.

Only one of those things has been done for CM.

FMTopFan
10-02-2006, 09:07
It more common sense that anything to have just the text on-screen. Playing FM06 on the PSP is a quick fix on the move so missing out the pitch view isn't important. Waiting ages for a match to start so the pitch data can load up isn't my idea of fun on the go.

Friends have said you can fly through the seasons on their PSPs compared to playing on the PC - which is high on the hard disk activity - despite having RAID 0.

How many seasons can you get out of Fm06 on the PSP considering it's been hugely cutback to get it playable?

Younger Crayola
10-02-2006, 09:13
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">
How many seasons can you get out of Fm06 on the PSP considering it's been hugely cutback to get it playable? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The official word is 30, which is more than adequate.

FMTopFan
10-02-2006, 09:18
30 seasons is very good Younger Crayola http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and will help me get my fix on my 3 week hols soon. Where did you find out about the season limit and is it just the same as the PC version?

Younger Crayola
10-02-2006, 09:23
One of the SI guys mentioned it in some PSP thread or other, it just stuck in my mind.

The PC version doesn't have a season limit.

10-02-2006, 09:23
There's no PC limit (apart from the ever-growing size of the save game file!)

30 seasons for PSP has been confirmed, although I can't remember where

10-02-2006, 09:24
Younger Crayola also a Faster Keyboarder than me http://community.sigames.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Marc Vaughan
10-02-2006, 11:09
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by NeilStudd:
There's no PC limit (apart from the ever-growing size of the save game file!)

30 seasons for PSP has been confirmed, although I can't remember where </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I mentioned it on another thread somewhere around ...

Medion
13-02-2006, 00:41
I was just wondering, what is the size of the save file? I have a 1 gig memory stick so I should be okay but I'm still interested to know.

Is it fixed from the start? I'm guessing it is fixed because it'd be major issue if you can't save in the middle of game; at least on a PC you delete/move files to make space while the game is running before attempting another save.

Sheer Class
13-02-2006, 00:59
Save games are massively reduced for the PSP version. They should fit on the standard 32MB Stick

Marc Vaughan
13-02-2006, 01:36
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Is it fixed from the start? I'm guessing it is fixed because it'd be major issue if you can't save in the middle of game; at least on a PC you delete/move files to make space while the game is running before attempting another save. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Save games are hugely compressed and have been designed to minimise this sort of problem by preallocating buffers at a maximum size where applicable*.

*For instance the game starts with a reserved space for new player histories which is always present in a save game, but initially isn't utilised until you are several seasons into the game.