PDA

View Full Version : I thought you could'nt be offside from a goal kick!



Os
24-11-2009, 09:51
Time and again players getting blown up for offside from goal kicks, has there been a rule change or have I simply got it wrong?

charlo116
24-11-2009, 09:54
i thought it was just throw-ins you can't be offside from, i'm probably wrong though.

Makollig Jezvahted
24-11-2009, 09:55
i thought it was just throw-ins you can't be offside from, i'm probably wrong though.

http://www.offside-ref.co.uk/laws/11-offside-rule/detailed/

No Offence
There is no offside offence if a player receives the ball directly from:

a goal kick
a throw-in
a corner kick


So, no rule change.
But I haven't seen any on my matches either.

edit: are you sure the offside wasn't from a header after the goal kick?

santy001
24-11-2009, 11:28
It's hard to tell whether a player is counted as passive or active, but indeed there is no offsides from goalkicks. However, FM has the unenviable task of trying to implement the passive or active situation into the game. Different linesmen judge it differently, so its never going to be too great a situation. However, I have seen a long kick up field from the keeper drop to my striker who slotted it in, and he was in an offside position when he got the ball or at least he looked to be just offside on the replay camera.