Man mark, Zonal marking or Default?

Man mark, Zonal marking or Default?  

74 members have voted

1. 1. Man mark, Zonal marking or Default?

As the title say's, what do you do?

I heard Steve Bruce on MOTD say "For set pieces you want to zonal mark and also man mark, but If it's not a set play then man mark also zonal mark at the same time"

Other managers say different, but what Steve Bruce said is quiet hard to do on FM10.

From an experienced FM gamer, How could I improve in this area (as I'm not good at marking)?

Personally, I always have my centre backs set to man marking. Then, for attacking formations, I use zonal marking, as I want my players to be able to make advantage of the extra space when we gain possesion, but for defensive formations, I use man marking as I wan't to make sure the attacking players are given as little room as possible.

For set pieces, I always use man marking. I've had too many bad experiences of watching Liverpools woeful defending from from set pieces to ever want to risk using zonal marking from these situations

Set piece marking is always man marking in game, isn't it?

What Steve Bruce said makes little sense.

I just choose zonal marking at all times, but if there's one player I want to keep quiet, I'll have him man marked.

What the **** is default marking?

It let the tactical wizard decide for you which player has man-marking and which player has zonal marking.

If you choose "zonal" or "man" marking in the team instructions then all your players will use that marking system.

I think it'd be best if someone could actually outline the advantages and disadvantages of the two because I'm pretty sure it's good for different things, just not sure what.

Just posted this another thread :). Man marking all the way. After many years, playing football, watching it at grounds and on TV, and playing FM, ive still never seen a "zone" score a goal!