PDA

View Full Version : Specs and Leagues Question



BatigolStatue
01-11-2009, 19:27
Hi everyone, this is my very first (and hopefully not the last) post on this site. I am a daily visitor to these forums and find them both informative and entertaining.

I am a football manager nut. I have played the game since the 1990s. Now i do agree with sentiments on here about FM09 being a slight disappointment and i found it quite slow at times on my Dell Inspiron 6400 (512 MB ram).

I have recently ordered a new laptop from Dell - the STUDIO 15 with Intel Pentium Dual Core Processor T4300, 4gb ram, 250 GB hard drive and the standard Intel Integrated GMA 4500MHD video card.

How will this laptop run FM10? I am looking to enjoy the 3d experience this year, didnt even attempt to access it on FM09 on my old laptop as i felt the game was slow enough as it was. Excuse me if my questions are simple but i am a computer novice in relative terms so indulge me. Will my new laptop run the game well?

I would also like some advice on what my limits should be on my new laptop in terms of setting playable/view only leagues without reducing the game to a snail's pace?

Any comments are welcome. Cheers

trekman
01-11-2009, 19:35
Not 100% sure about your graphics card but everything else will be fine for fm.

BatigolStatue
01-11-2009, 20:13
Cheers trekman, was sorta thinking the video card could be a problem. Will it not run 3d at all?

paulscholesisalegend
01-11-2009, 20:22
im playing the demo on a samsung r519 dual core laptop with 2gb ram and the integrated graphics chip all updated drivers etc and it runs like a dream perfect. just built a phenom 2 quad core 3.2 ghz machine with 3gb ddr 3 ram and a radeon hd 4650 graphics card. so cant wait for that

BatigolStatue
01-11-2009, 20:28
Is your graphic card different/better/worse than what i will be getting scholesy??

paulscholesisalegend
01-11-2009, 20:35
the integrated on on the samsung is a mobile intel series 4 express chipset so id imagine they are around the same maybe ??

lofty20000
01-11-2009, 20:36
Hi i have the same graphics card on my acer laptop and it runs the 3d matches without any problems

BatigolStatue
01-11-2009, 20:37
We'll see i suppose, laptop should hopefully arrive tomorrow and i can get stuck into it.

scollier
02-11-2009, 21:01
We'll see i suppose, laptop should hopefully arrive tomorrow and i can get stuck into it.

Did it work? How was the 3D match view?

woody2goody
02-11-2009, 21:06
My laptop's 2 years old and it works ok for the 3d matches :), you should be fine.

BatigolStatue
02-11-2009, 21:14
Laptop still hasnt arrived yet. To compound matters i went into HMV and bought the mac version of FM10 by mistake! My brother has been playing FM10 all weekend and is raving about it, he's a tough cookie to impress so my hopes are high! How you people finding it?

dirtyscarab
02-11-2009, 21:19
Hi BatigolStatue, welcome to the forums!

In answer to your question, FM10 is leaps and bounds betters than 09. It also runs a lot faster than 09 so you shouldn't have any worries about running it with those specs. Maybe when you do get your PC copy, you can experiment with how many leagues and nations your laptop can handle. This is made easier now by a star system (The game will tell you in stars how well your computer can handle the league selections you've made). Although slightly erratic, it's a pretty cool new feature.
I have a similar graphics card to you and my 3D game runs just fine.


Good luck! :D

BatigolStatue
02-11-2009, 22:50
Cheers dirtyscarab! Really looking forward to getting going, will let you all know how i do, did pretty well on previous versions so i'm confident. Good thing about fm is that it is quite difficult to win lots of trophies which in turn makes it all the more sweeter when you do!

Unrelated question, i notice you hail from Baltimore. I'm a major fan of the Wire. It has ruined all other tv in my eyes. You in the projects dirtyscarab?