Overheating problem

Get your computer Fan looked at, most likely cause of overheating.

Happened to my computer, convinced it was the fan so got some technician in to look at it who charged a ridiculous price for looking at the computer for an hour and saying that I shouldn't leave it on as much and he could hear the fan so it must be working. The problem persisted so I took it to a local repair shop and they just said I needed to install a new fan (which they did) and now its fine, they were even cheaper than the useless technician.

How do you know its a heating problem? If its a heating problem the most likely cause is dust, you need to clean out your fans, heat sinks etc. If its not a heating problem it'll be something that is damaged on the motherboard which causes the freezing.

If the extra fans aren't helping it sounds like a power issue. Not that I'm an expert, but I had a similar problem about 4 years ago.

Take it to a dodgy-looking PC shop where the bloke looks like he's never had, or ever will know, the touch of a woman. PC World will charge you through the nose just for looking at it. The goons in the little shops tend to charge less, and in my experience do a better job. PC World couldn't find the problem with my old PC and in the end all I needed was a new (I don't know the word for it...) bit that the power chord plugs into at the back. Possibly because PC World aren't electricians.

Okay, that's my anti-PC World rant over for the day. I feel much better.

Good luck with the PC.

What's the temperature then?

If you need a program, do a search for CoreTemp. It's quite easy to use and supports most of Intel and AMDs CPUs, including dual cores.