Identifying a good player through attributes.

I am relatively new to this game, and one thing I am really wondering about is how can you tell a player will be suitable for your team through loking at the attributes?

So Messi and Ronaldo are the two best players in real life right? I took a look at their attributes in FM09. Both players attributes are very high, but hwop can you classify if a player is any good or not.

And what about young players? What are good attributes to have when your 17, 18, 19, 20 or 21?

In Fifa games it's very easy to determine hwo good a player is simply by loking at their rating. For example 92, or 68.

Firstly, when i first started playing the game (CM00/01) i always would refer to the manual which had a list of which attributes were key to each position. (i.e strikers= Finishing, pace, composure, off the ball)

Also it depends on the level you are eplaying the game at, for instance, if you are in the premier league as Arsenal for example you would aim for those attributes to be around 15+, whereas if you were being Leyton Orient in League 1 you would be happy with 10-15.

Although attributes are what makes a player be portrayed technically in the match engine, the true ability of a player relies in his Current Ability (CA) and his Potential Ability (PA) both ranged between 0-200. this is simply a rating of how much ability a player has now and what his maximum potential can be. Younger players tend to have lower CA than PA because they will develop. and players CA at their peak will be near their PA.

The only in game way of determining CA and PA is through scout reports, whcih are not always accurate. The better your scouts rating in judging PA and CA determine how accurate his reports are.

Another point i have i about Values of players, although the value does partially rely on the ability of a player, it mainly concerns their "reputation" so when looking for hiddens gems the higher value doesnt always mean the better PA or CA.