What does "yet to see a return from the money spent this season" actually mean?

I started playing fm07 again, and at the end of the first season with Newcastle a tycoon took over and invested 100 million into the club, giving me 40 million to spend on transfers.

Now i am near the end of the season, have won the league cup and league and am about to play the champions league final. Silva of Valencia has just signed a new deal, and has a minimum release fee of 8m. I have 5.9m left in the warchest and have made a profit of 30 million in the season, despite upgrading facilities and the stadium. So i ask for more money for transfers (Arsenal and Chelsea already made bids for the player.)

The board come back with that stupid phrase, yet to see a return on the money spent.

Now 1) financially i have made a profit of 30m therefore the money spent has been returned. 2)in terms of achievements there has also been a return, seen as i finished 4 last season and have now won the league by 20+ points.

So could someone explain exactly what "yet to see a return is refering to?" Also has this problem been fixed in more recent games (i havn't played 09, and hated 08 so gave up almost immediatly).

Like i said i havn't played 09, but the whole board interaction has always been quite poor and unrealistic imo.

I agree, they should have put it much more clearly.

Only thing I can see you do is try your best to sell a fringe player or the guy Silva will be replacing?

This is a feature that gets on my nerves, well not the feature so much but that one line. I spent my budget on a striker, he came in played 23, scored 27. I'm quite sure that's a return on the money. There should be more depth to this, perhaps ultimately move towards a dialogue like that of the media interviews, depending on what you say, and your chairmans stats depends on the outcome. A long way off no doubt, but it'd be nice and more transparent as to how it works.

I agree, they should have put it much more clearly.