How tired do you let players get?

I am relatively new to FM, playing in the Blue Square South with a bunch of young players without the best stamina. I would like to take players out when they are about 80% condition. However, and especially when I am forced to start players under 95%, I end up leaving players in to 75% or 70%. In some tough weeks, after I've made my 3 subs, I've had to play players down into the sixties.

How tired do you let your players get?

I try to manage the tempo and pressing of my team so that players don't get 'exhausted'.

If I'm ahead in a match, I switch to a possession style of football which probes on the occasional counter-attack (with Bognor Regis in the BSS :p) which will save energy.

I never start a player who is 'tired'. I try never to start a player below 90% (ideally it would be 95% but quality in depth for replacements is a problem with a limited wage budget).

The prime reason is that once a player is 'exhausted' then they become significantly more likely to make mistakes. Mistakes can mean late goals being scored against me. As proof of the efficacy of this method I can honestly say that I have conceded only 7 goals in 2 seasons in the last 15 minutes of a match (3 of those goals coming in the 3rd round of the FA Cup against Premier League West Brom which just highlighted the vast gulf in fitness levels between the two teams!). I'm currently averaging just under a goal a game scored in the last 15 minutes over those 2 seasons (I think I worked it out as 0.7 per game - certainly a big proportion of my goals scored) as when necessary I can then up the tempo and attack to get a goal if needed or through simple exhaustion the opposition will make a mistake for my team to score on the counter.

I never start a player under 90%

But during the match there are to many factors to take in account. Injurys, players playing bad etc...