How do you find good players for lower division clubs?

Im new to FM09 but not to the series and im curious as to how to go about finding players worth buying when playing with a lower league team.

I've generally only ever managed big teams so i've been able to rely a lot on having good scouts as well as already knowing who's good and who's not by simply watching football on TV and reading the papers.

Anyhoo, as a lower league team who is naturally going to have pretty poor scouts how do i go about finding decent players at a price i can afford?

Well I'm afraid there is no quick fix but the only thing I can suggest is to get the best scouts possible for your club and send them to scour the country for the best players you can get.

One point to note is if your using the player search, don't tick the box "ask assistant to filter unrealistic targets", you can set a max value and wage but you can capture many a player who doesn't show up.

Also, after the first season, have a look at the big teams transfers out, because there is lots of good free transfers from players released

Looking at stats isn't the problem. Its finding players worth looking at. I cant just go through every club and every player manually looking at stats.

Unfortunately that's often still the best way. This is why I can spend literally hours searching for players at the start of a lower league save.

Otherwise it's just a case of setting your scouts to look for players, getting scout reports on players you like the look of to ensure their star rating suggests they will be an improvement to your team, or that they are rated higher than the level your playing...

...or you could pop your head into Good Player & Team Guide, where there's a few shortlists and discussions available for lower league players.