How do 'Reserve' teams work?

Hey everyone,

I just started playing FM 09 and I am curious about the Reserve teams. I've read that reserve teams can be useful to send players who are in poor form/morale. I've also read that it is not good practice to carry too large a payroll.

It seems to me that it would be prudent to have a decent Reserve team to fill your First Team when International teams call-up or injuries pile up. My questions are:

1. Is it generally worthwhile to have a Reserve team?
  2. If so, how many players should be on this team? (what is the minimum number of players needed to 'have a game')
  3. What happens if the Reserve Squad doesn't have enough players for a match?
  4. Are there any tips, tricks or not-so-obvious uses I should know about managing a Reserve team?

Thanks for any help!

werkz

1. yes i think its essential to have a reserve team, having a backup team is great, especially for developing new youngesters and helping players recover from injury

2. i tend to have around 15-20, as with football u need 11 players to play for the reserves, and then subs.

3. If u dont have enough then any places who arent filled are taken from your Under-18/19/21 team

4. personally i dont manage them, i designate that task to my assistant. I jsut choose the players that are available to him

having reserves isnt just for first team players, its used for developing youngsters allowing them to take the step up from youth games. As well as giving new signings time to get used to playing for your club, and letting them blend in with your squad instead of just chucking them in at the deep end

hope i helped

Thank you. You did help... and it makes sense.

My initial instinct was to develop my Reserve team using Free Transfer players that are 'slightly aged but still good' and mixing them with ' young up-and-comers'.